Journey to, Landing, & First Day in Norway


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Northern Norway
May 15th 2010
Published: May 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My first flight was from Philadelphia to Newark, and guess what? Fate didn't spare me a damn thing as a first-time flyer. My flight was delayed a half-hour and then once I boarded, I proceeded to find out that the plane was number 14 to take off on the runway. Needless to say, we arrived late. An hour late. I ran through the airport and still I missed my flight to Oslo. I ended up being rushed on another plane soon after I talked to the representative at the service desk - that flight was to Lisbon, Portugal. You want to talk about feeling isolated? My cell phone had service but no network, so I couldn't contact anyone at all. And though I speak multiple languages, Portuguese is unfortunately not one of them, so I couldn't use the phone, and it wouldn't accept my debit card anyway. And sure, the staff at the Lisbon airport were great at giving directions, but God forbid you need a demonstration on how to use something in the airport. Anyway, I ended up catching the flight from Lisbon to Oslo and arrived in one piece and with a really low degree of sanity left in me. The staff there were great (of course you know I'm rooting for the Norwegians) and I got my flight changed and arrived at Evenes and met Per Christian there like two hours after I was supposed to arrive - no wait, I'm lying - more like...4 hours. 9:30 at night, like I could tell the difference. It's always light here in the summer, so at least I didn't arrive at a depressing, dark airport. We waited outside for the taxi and I met his father Åge - very awesome guy.
For the most part, I just slept today, but in the evening, Per Christian and I took a walk to the city center to meet his younger brother Anders (also very cool). And for dinner, we've had homemade tacos for the past two nights, which is awesome. Of course there's a blatant Norwegian twist on them (we used a Norvegia/Jarlsberg mix of cheese on them rather than taco cheese). On the way to the city center, I took some pictures for you all to hopefully enjoy. I'm situated right between the mountains and the sea, so it's chock full of amazing, breathtaking views here.
More updates tomorrow of course!
- Samantha


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



16th May 2010

helo
This is really something your doing kid ive been watching your for about 13 years and ill keep on till I die have a safe summer and remember Joni,Brian,Sharon,Brian Jr. love you and they always will
18th May 2010

wow it is really beautiful there maybe one day i will visit and check out the black metal scene that would be fucking awesome
26th May 2010

hey...
Who is this?

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb