Oslo, Hot dogs and torrential rain.


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Oslo
July 17th 2007
Published: July 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I keep hearing about the HOT, HOT weather that you are all having back home. (Edmonton area that is) Well, I'll be the first to ask you if I could PLEASE have that! Out of the 2 weeks that I've been travelling, I think I had rougly 4 1/2 days of sunshine, in which 1 day was excellent (my day in Åraksbø). I'm not complaining, trust me, I'm quite loving my time in Norway and from my first half day in Oslo...going to be quite good. HOWEVER, some sunshine would be GREAT!

I caught the express bus in Kristiansand and made it to Oslo by 12:30pm. The sky was slightly overcast and I had a bit of a walk ahead of me with my thick backpack and daypack plastered on me. At this point I'm quite good at hiking with my heavy ass backpack....so a jaunt down the middle of Oslo feels like nothing. I got to my hostel and was taken back by how nice it was (fingers crossed, i've been hitting up stellar hostels this trip!) and since the weather was a tad bit gross, didn't want to jump into siteseeing right away, so I took a walk down Karl Johan's Gate (street here in Oslo) and ventured to the royal palace. Norways "Buckingham Palace" is much, less secure...not to mention the shale that covers the grounds in FRONT of the palace. If i were shiftier enough...I could seriously find a way to shimmy up the side of the palace and in...its THAT unsecure, haha, however it has a great little view of the street that is usually packed down below. As I was making my way back to central Oslo...a trickle of rain graced my soft, shimmering hair. I laughed it off and continued to walk. Soon enough TWO spits of rain touched my ivory soft skin...again I laughed it off. As I walked, contemplating the wonder that is Oslo...God opened up the sky and started to spit GOBS and GOBS of rain. Within 30 seconds I was completely soak and wet. I was quick enough to put a rain protector over my backpack (gotta protect the cameras and all!) and I will NOT say that I'm too cheap to buy an umbrella, however even small, compact ones cost roughly $40 (EEEEEEEP). I hung out in the subway station with all the other folk and finally made it back to the hostel...only to have the sun and all it's glory peek out as soon as I entered my room. I tempted god again about an hour later and made my way to the internet cafe...only to have him ROLL those clouds back over top and spit on me again.

One aspect that I have really not mentioned about Norway is that they ABSOLUTELY LOVE hotdogs. The local Narvesen (like macs or 7/11) sells hotdogs in droves! For the budget traveller who doesn't want to spend big bucks for a meal...25 NOK for a hotdog is sometimes the nicest option. They make hotdogs an art over here...not like the garbage that we might buy at home. AND since I typically pack on tonnes of km's everyday WALKING (usually very fast) I do the best I can to justify my intake of hotdogs. By the end I will be completely hot dogged out!

Anyway, that is all for now...going to rest my weary, soaking bones for the evening. HEAVY day of siteseeing tomorrow, thanks to the Oslo pass which gives you free museum entry, free transportation within the city and even FREE admission into two massive city swimming pools! If the rain doesn't stop....I'm going to soak my ass in the heated waters regardless!

Ha det fra Oslo!

Don

Advertisement



17th July 2007

The Dog
With all the heat we have been having, Delee, Drew and I have been living off of tube steaks and hamburgers so I am dogged out right now, but that one does look alright. Have fun there in the rain as we all enjoy the forcasted 37C Thursday weather.
18th July 2007

http://www.kongehuset.no
I geeked it up and discovered King and Queen actually live at the Palace during the winter months. You missed them though, their summer residence is in Tjøme. I should've bought you an umbrella instead of that hotel! PS> Hi Dean & Delee

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb