The water fills the valleys and eyes today


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Hønefoss
August 12th 2014
Published: August 14th 2014
Edit Blog Post

This morning I woke and stayed in my cabin for a bit while I packed. It was a rough night as the evening closed and I thought about leaving. I managed to fall asleep and woke early. I really love it here.

Packed up my stuff with a lump in my throat. I have really grown attached to this family and my and my big brother. They all made me feel like one of them right from the beginning. This visit changes everything for me as far as my feelings. Well, enough mush ...... I wiped away the tears, put on a smile and headed down to the main cottage for my coffee. I was greeted instantly by Andreas. He came over to me and asked to be picked up. He wrapped his arms around my neck, squeezed real tight and cuddled for a bit (until I could no longer hold him lol). He told be to get some Skolebrød, (that which Gry made the night before). I wasn't quite ready for such sweetness so early so I passed and opted for the coffee and some bread with prim Cheese. Prim which means brown cheese, is a geitost (Norwegian for "goat cheese"). I have eaten this for a number of breakfasts here and intend on taking some back with me.

After showers and breakfast, a friend of Andy's, Morten, came to visit from Honefoss. Morten arrived with his 12 week old golden and terrier. We sat in the kitchen having coffee and Skolebrød while practicing Morten's English or perhaps me increasing my Norwegian. Morten is a medic in Honefoss, following the footsteps of his father and grandfather. Joan, who came down a little later, said Morten's father was a very good and popular medic delivering many babies in his ambulance as the hospital was much further away in those days. While Morten was visiting, Andy left to take Thea to Honefoss for drivers education.

After Joan and Morten left the cottage, we got things ready to go to Gry's family's home for dinner in Svartad and to spend the night at Gry and Andy's farm.

Upon Andy's arrival back to the cottage, I said goodbye to Joan, Anna, Oscar, Alexander and Edwin and we packed up the car and remaining kids. I waved through the window to Anna who was sitting on the rock by "my" cabin with a chisel and hammer, I suspect to finish carving her name into the stone. Wishing now I had done my name as Andy suggested I do upon my arrival. Oh well, I will be back 😊

And we were off. Gry took the kids in the SUV to go pick Thea up while Andy and I got to spend time alone in the car driving and chatting. First stop was on Honefoss where Andy took me to Joan's new condo. It was quite lovely with a wonderful view off a long veranda. We looked at a few pictures then headed out. Along the way Andy pointed out pertinent landmarks. I listened to his stories, asking questions and simply enjoying the country side. Once closer to Svarstad, Andy showed me a number of homes he either once owned, lived in, or presently owns. We saw Gry's school where she works, Andreas' day care and the two schools where the children go. See pictures attached. Gry stopped to purchase a gift for her niece as it was the primary reason for her visit to her family's home.

We arrived at Gry's parents home where I met her mom, Mary Helen, dad , Nils Johan, aunt, Britt Ranveig, sister, Heges and niece, Sophie. Mary Helen, in my honour, made traditional Norwegian meatballs, kjøttkaker meaning 'meat cakes’, boiled potatoes, kålstuing which is cabbage in a cream sauce and carrots. For dessert we had Tilslørte bondepiker translated, Veiled peasant girls, made of whipped cream based dessert with bread and apples.

As we looked out the front window, we could see directly below us Gry and Andy's home only spitting distance. What an incredible view off their veranda! They told me that Gry's home (to avoid confusion, referred to here as 'the farm house' from this point on) was the first home built and her grandparents lived there. Then when her parents married, the grandparents built the home on the hill and moved into that allowing her parents to move into the farm house. When they could no long stay In their home on their own, they moved on and Gry's parents moved into the house on the hill and Gry into the farm house. Gry's sisters also live within sight of the farm house.

We left Gry's parents home and Andy took me for a little drive. We stopped at friends of theirs, Kim, Renate and their daughter Hermine. Renate reminded me that I had met her daughter Hermine on skype and she was not permitted to call me auntie. This was true and I recalled talking to Andreas and Hermine one evening and Andreas got angry with Hermine when she called me auntie. He told her in Norwegian, " you can't call her auntie, she's my aunt not yours".

When we got to the farm, Gry, Thea and I went to the grocery store to buy some breakfast items and cheeses for me to take home. We took Gry's Beemer. Could tell she loves driving it. Y the big smile on her face! When we got back, Andy took me for a tour of the farm showing me the loft and his invention of feeding the horses hay through windows in the loft. He farm is a wonderful pace for the kids with much space, and all the amenities one needs.

Thea put together melons, cheeses and crackers for us to have a snack and visit. She and I had a good cry together as I think we bonded quickly. I will miss her a lot! Not surprising actually that we did as she is Gry's daughter and Gry and I got along so very well. Unfortunately, I did not get to spend a great deal of time getting to know Nancy, I would like to have made a connection with her. I think. She is currently struggling with the teenager demons.

Tears were shed and good nights were said ........


Additional photos below
Photos: 60, Displayed: 26


Advertisement













Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0271s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb