Back in Europe


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands
June 17th 2008
Published: June 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


For people with a life

Landed in Frankfurt, watched the kayaking in Duisburg, went to Holland, they won the soccer, stayed out seriously late celebrating the win, woke up equally late, did very little all day, ate my cow for dinner (was really nice), went out for a quiet drink (got home at 430), fixed a bike, went back to Duisburg, watched more kayaking, had free dinner with the AUS team, had a proper quiet drink with the kayak team, caught stupidly long and early train to Vienna.

For those with time to kill

So here it is the second installment of my (hopefully) increasingly exciting travel blog. After landing in Frankfurt I made my way to the Kayaking world cup in Duisburg to watch Reece. Once the racing was done for the day it was back on the train to Holland. I watched Holland make short work of the frogs at the bar where Melissa works, and afterwards we partied at an Aussie pub of all places.
The following day we were moving a bit slow so nothing super exciting happened, for dinner we ate a nice fillet steak from my cow, then went out for a
Crazy Duisburg birdCrazy Duisburg birdCrazy Duisburg bird

They call it the "Lifesaver", but it looks a bit more suspect to me
quiet drink as Melissa was working and ended up staying out till sunrise (I think I like Holland)

With my body clock completely destroyed I planned on getting up pretty early to head back to Duisburg, but a combination of time wasting and repairing some damage I may have inflicted on a bike the night before I didn’t get away till after 1pm. I made it to Duisburg to watch Reece’s last K4 500m final and they did pretty good. I went back with the team and scored a free dinner.

The “wild” night with the paddling team was pretty funny. We went to the servo to get some post dinner snacks to satisfy these peoples insane hunger, while there everyone got excited that you could buy beer in the servo. Seeing as the coaches had ruled out anything crazier than walking down to a local beer garden and being back by 11, everyone bought a couple of beers and we snuck down to a pontoon on the river and rocked out high school style (but only till 11.)

At 730 this morning I started an 11 hour train ride to Vienna to watch the Austria-Germany soccer
Kayak world cupKayak world cupKayak world cup

Massive croud on the friday
game. I’ll let you know how it goes




Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Crazy germansCrazy germans
Crazy germans

Look closely at the ad on the roof
Getting OrangeGetting Orange
Getting Orange

Melissa managed to score us a couple of sweet hats
Black SwanBlack Swan
Black Swan

In Nijmegen??
GoatGoat
Goat

Just for you smithy
Thanks MelissaThanks Melissa
Thanks Melissa

Ive sampled a number of awesome beers since landing on friday.
EB anyone??EB anyone??
EB anyone??

Its got the coat of arms but its from Poland??
SteveSteve
Steve

Enjoying a fine beferage, even if it was a bit furry for him.


17th June 2008

Franziskaner
Yeah, tom the Franziskaner on the last pic in your hand is a real good chice! Do you visit Vorarlberg?
17th June 2008

quality picture you put in there tom, made up for your last blog effort
17th June 2008

More exciting
Your blogs are getting more exciting indeed. Thanks for fixing my bike; it's still working!!!

Tot: 0.219s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb