Do we give a Dam!


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » South Holland » Delft
April 24th 2013
Published: April 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

A bit of a late start after our cosy night in Bertha the six man tent with Lilo Lil. I spent ages in the shower as it was so hot and then Ian headed to the showers as well…. we made it off the site by 11am! Finally setting off our first stop was to find Fort Rammekins, near Vlissingen. Surprise…we couldn’t find it! We have maps that show points of interest but the sign posting seems to be non-existent in the Netherlands, but Woolly did find his first windmill….



Woolly says – I was dead chuffed to find it and then another seven came along, I’m getting windmilled out! We decided to follow the N57 which proved to be full of brilliant scenery, although flat the views are spectacular and the houses and towns were really pretty you could literally see as far as the eye could. Crossing over our first Dam was really exciting and Jo told me all about the little boy who stuck his finger in one, personally I would have gone for cement and done something else! We arrived in the lovely town of Burgh Haamstede to have a look at the castle – well it didn’t have turrets, it didn’t have slits in fact it looked like a fairly normal house except bigger, I was slightly disappointed but cheered up over lunch at a lovely local bar, where I got to share Ian’s HUGE burger and chips and Jo’s cheese toastie and salad it was very nom costing 22 Euro including two coffees and a coke for me (approximately £18.50 GBP) it wasn’t the cheapest lunch but extremely filling. With full tummies Jo and I popped into the supermarket to get some supplies, I wanted to buy several packets of waffles but Jo put her foot down and only allowed me one! We continued on our route passing through Ooddrop. Jo and I asked Ian if this was where Oodes come from but he just rolled his eyes at us and then onto Brielle. Picking up the A14 we were able to spend quite a long time admiring the docks of Rotterdam while we waited in traffic before finally arriving on the outskirts of Delft to book into the Delftse Hout Camping site, I got very excited to see loads of UK number plates, Ian and I went number plate spotting and counted seven different nationalities on the site. At 22 Euro a night including Wifi for all comers the facilities are good and the food smelt good in the restaurant, there’s loads of play areas for the children but Jo and Ian (being mean) wouldn’t let me play on them! We adjourned to the bar for a chance to plan tomorrow and paying approximately £2.50 GBP for a pint of lager Ian and Jo seemed quite happy, apparently we get to look at some plates tomorrow, I’m not sure why as we have plenty of plates in Oliver!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb