My Life is Not Average


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
January 8th 2013
Published: August 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Day 10 Amsterdam.


Tuesday 8th January 2013


This morning we can cycle Amsterdam just like the locals. Spend the rest of the day checking out Amsterdam’s museums or trendy cafes. Tonight there’s a farewell dinner followed by an optional canal cruise.







Amsterdamage!



So today started with a bike ride around the city. Our group was too big to go as one so split into two our one ventured off at pace over the bridges, down the alleys and into the park where the first stop was the large Iamsterdam sign. Apparently the done thing is to climb all over it taking photos. So who are we to mess with tradition. Moving onto a trip round the park, seeing a Picasso statue, stopping at Anne Frank’s house and through the alleyways and over bridges, the bike ride was a nice way to see some sights. Back at the bike hut, we all dispersed, the majority of people venturing down to go inside Anne Frank’s house. I wasn’t that interested in going there but really should have stuck with the group. Being our second to last day, I didn’t really make the right decisions.



I had wanted to go to the Van Gogh museum, so while everyone else went off one way, Julie, Charlene, Hana and I went the other. Julie left us to go wandering and the three of us got well and truly lost walking round. The signage wasn’t great to follow. I was then told the Van Gogh museum was shut for refurbishment, but the exhibition had moved to another location. So we found the new museum but you had to buy a ticket for the whole place, not just the exhibit you wanted to see. And then once inside, there were none of the paintings I wanted to see anyway. They had ‘Sunflowers’ but Café de Nuit and Starry Night were not housed there. I was so disappointed and at this point hungry and a bit fed up that I had wasted half of my one day left. We saw Renior and Monet and had a coffee in the café. Then left and wandered back to Dam Square. I didn’t know what else to do. Finally I saw Michelle and gave a big hug of relief. We wandered into a shopping centre and while Charlene and Hana went browsing, Michelle and I sat and had coffee and cake. I was relieved to have my friend back. She had been to Anne’s house and been shopping. After that we wandered along the roads back to the coach pick up and back to the hostel to get ready for dinner, which improved my mood!

We started off with dinner in a lovely Chinese restaurant. John, Sarah, Kurt and co told us of their trip to Anne’s house and then to the Heineken Brewery I knew I should have gone with them. We presented Ype and Carly with a present of thanks and left the restaurant to board our party boat – a 2 hour alcoholic canal cruise, where Carly read out a poem she had written of our trip (see below). Bearing in mind, I only had 1 glass of wine as the bar ran out! I went round telling everyone how much I loved them (as you do) and that I was so glad I had met them all. Yes Mary Poppins was tipsy but not that drunk! After we returned, I

was tempted to go clubbing with the party lot but a lack of money, sleep and knowing I wouldn’t get up in the morning had me returning to our room, looking after a very tipsy Michelle and Casey, telling them to go to sleep repeatedly! A great end to the night! I was sad the trip was nearly over. We said goodbye to some people here and it was starting to feel a bit melancholy. Our last stop was Bruges so onto the home of chocolate and mussels!



An Ode from Carly on the Amsterdam Party Cruise

We started off in 2012, to Paris off we went,
We cycled round the city, “non non” is what we said.
Sarah took no prisoners, especially no dogs,
& dropped her bike on its head, the poor thing was pretty shocked.





Those above average, climbed the Eiffel Tower,
When dinner passed, the rain came down,
And we were all pretty sour,
2013 arrived, not the rave we had in mind,
Finding an open metro, was a pretty lucky find!



Au revoir Paris, onto Switzerland we go,
New Year’s take 2, was pretty good y’know.
We sang our hearts out and danced like mad,
Whilst Rich made moves just like a Dad.
Things got heated and off came shirts,
There was a tattoo convention with Ype and Kurt.
At midnight we cheered with lots to celebrate,
& Sarah downed shots with new found mates.



Early next morning we were Italy bound,
With a stop in Verona where a baby was found.
A very strange baby, some may say perve,
He pinched my arse, my god! What a nerve!
We had a feast in Venice, some buckets and danced,
Jarrod’s horn boomed; wish he’d left it in France.
But Kenny managed to steal the show,
With a very smart jumper and shirt combo.
Then into town for gondolas and mask’s,
And watched Jules smash the wine, my face was aghast!
We watched in awe as a man blew a horse,
He did it quite tenderly, with not too much force.
The girls brought sparkles, the boys got bored,
We went to get ice cream, which we all adored.



Germany next, well Munich specifically,
To the HBH for a stein or 3!
“Prost!” We cheered to sausages and beer,
The Contiki group were average,
What a shame, oh dear.



But we all had a laugh, some giggles and fun,
Then onto Amsterdam, there were horrors to come!
Like the mother and son, banana and string,
Writing was next, which aroused Jarrod’s old thing.
All were eager to go and get stoned,
“Amsterdam got me bitches” Mitch later moaned.
Marcus was laughing about Paris and a midget,
Whilst Matt could sit still and started to fidget.
All were up early to ride round the city,
Before going back home to get dressed up and pretty.



So here’s to our adventures, god it’s been great,
You guys are awesome, I have 50 new mates!
Bon Voyage if we leave you here, a great excuse to drink more beer.
Have a great night, but set your alarms,
And tomorrow lets pray that the seas are calm.
Thanks again for being so fun,
Now it’s back to London where it all began.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb