Look All Around There's Nothing But Blue Skies


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
April 16th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Look how cool we areLook how cool we areLook how cool we are

I feel like this should come at the end of some Disney teen-detective-crime solver series intro song or something.
And I'm stuck inside watching excruciatingly painful esoteric artsy films.

These films (which I watch in one of my film classes) literally drain me. They are abstract to the point of being mind numbing. The diologue is unnatural, the scnenes are jumpy, there's no plot, and the acting style is an accquired taste. I start the day off refreshed and ready to conquer the world and by the time I'm through with this class I need a bottle of asprin and a nap. Not only is it mentally draining but physically draining as well. The camera is usually handheld and the image is grainy so it puts a real strain on my eyes to watch two hour of unfocused film. Bleh.

And its painful knowing that outside is ridiculously gorgous. Rumor has it that over the weekend it was warmer here than back home in southern california. It could almost be considered hot. Definitely shorts weather...if I wore shorts.

There's really not much to report about life. It''s....lifey. Work is going well, I'm starting to stress about papers, I hang out with friends....basically its the same routine that I have back at home but with Amsterdam as the backdrop instead of LA.

I need to figure out how to schedule four more trips into the next month and a half. Paris, Prague, Rome, and Berlin are on the agenda. It's going to be a busy next few weeks.

I'm also going to Utrecht this weekend to film an elf festival. I won't elaborate on why, but there will be lots and lots of pictures.

I also had my first couch surfing hosting experience. It was excellent and has further reaffirmed my faith in couch surfing and the general goodness of people in general. My guests were independent and tidy and conversational and made me curry 😊. Despite being with me four three nights they didn't even come close to disrupting my routine. I'm really excited to bring couch surfing back with me to Los Angeles. I think everyone glorifies travel a little. Every place else other than home seems more exotic, more interesting, more cultural, more exciting, etc. The grass is always greener I guess. Anyways, it's easy to forget that what you can experience while traveling can also be experienced at home. Hopefully hosting couch surfers back home will serve as a constant reminder that home is just as exciting as anywhere else. It will also let me be part of the whole traveling scene even when I'm not traveling.

Anyways, I can't believe that I'm more than halfway through. Less than two months and I'll be back home. Crazy.

I've also just received news of a gelato place next to my apartment. Must check out.

I've also discovered the joy of goat cheese, walnuts, honey, and thyme as well as blue brie and jam on croissants. Mmmmm.



Advertisement



2nd May 2007

holla!
Couch surfing will save the world!

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0268s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb