Žabljak and Durmitor National Park: Day 29 to 32


Advertisement
Europe » Montenegro » Žabljak
July 9th 2023
Published: July 16th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Žabljak Žabljak Žabljak

Views of the road at Žabljak
I reached Žabljak, the location closest to Durmitor National Park.

I was staying at a place right next to the national park and I was stunned by the beauty of the place when I got there. Vast meadows, surrounded by pine forests and wildflowers. And I hadn't even gotten into the national park yet.

After recovering from the long journey, the next day I went to Durmitor National Park. It's a park well known for the Black Lake and multiple hikes.

I did the four lakes hike, covering Black Lake, Celine Lake, Snake Lake (only in name, no snakes there) and Barno Lake.

The hike was beautiful, the lakes breathtaking.

While most people spend most of their time at Black Lake, on the first day, I spent more time at Snake Lake and Barno Lake (lakes are called Jezero in Montenegro). Snake Lake reflected the green trees around it and was a lovely green color because of that. Barno Lake is actually a peatland, storing lots of Carbon and you can feel the ground sink under your feet if you get close to the lake.

But I was also fortunate to explore these forests as
Žabljak Žabljak Žabljak

Pine forests of Žabljak
they are one of the last primary forests left in Europe.

The next day, I went really early morning to explore the Black Lake better. When the sun comes out, like it did that day, the colors of the lake are anything but black. You get to see brilliant blues, gorgeous greens and other shades (and this is in summer, in autumn am sure the colors change with the trees). And I saw many families of ducks on the lake, enjoying their morning swim. I thoroughly enjoyed my time at the Black Lake and realised why it's a popular destination.

My only advise for this place is go early to the national park (ideally try to finish your hikes by 11am if you doing the lakes), because lot of tourists and tourist buses come for day trips and the place becomes crowded by 11am.

My first exposure to the mountains of Montenegro had been an amazing experience.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Durmitor National Park Durmitor National Park
Durmitor National Park

Hiking through primary forests of Durmitor National Park
Snake LakeSnake Lake
Snake Lake

Snake Lake, Durmitor National Park
Barno Lake Barno Lake
Barno Lake

Barno Lake, peatland that stores carbon
Black LakeBlack Lake
Black Lake

Black Lake, when the sun is out
Black LakeBlack Lake
Black Lake

Black Lake can be a spiritual experience
Durmitor National Park Durmitor National Park
Durmitor National Park

Endless greens at Durmitor National Park
Durmitor National Park Durmitor National Park
Durmitor National Park

Mountains of Durmitor National Park


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb