Lovable Luxembourg


Advertisement
Luxembourg's flag
Europe » Luxembourg
February 18th 2012
Published: May 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hi all,







Luxembourg was another highlight-of-a-hidden country. It boarders between Germany, France and Belgium, and I had to see what made this place it's own country. As soon as I was busing in from the airport, I started to see a trend of old and new architecture. Glass buildings with unique designs surrounded the outer area, and approaching the heart of the city, historical brick and stone building started to contrast the glass, and then take-over the scene.







I fell in love with the city right away. I walked the streets, passing signs that informed pedestrians and drivers exactly how many parking spaces were left in each lot. I wove through looming brick building and arch-ways as I made my way into the heart of the old city. Each street had a view, either cobblestone leading to museums, cathedrals, and squares dotted with quaint stores, or a view of the "low city" and historical ruins that plunge down from the "upper city". But the best part was that upper, or lower, the city was green: grass, trees, moss and shrubs - everywhere I looked, weather the sky was blue or grey - green!







I ventured down into the lower city, following one winding cobblestone road after another until I descended 65 meters down, and was starring up at the cliff edges that wound back up to the main part of town. Exploring the "lower city" left me in awe, finding small rivers and old ruins to follow...







Hiking up the other side of the "lower city", I found more ruins, trekking through hills and low mountains in what felt like natural setting, totally foreign to that type of proximity to a city-center! I wandered through the forests, up and down, and eventually wound back into the lower city, where I could decide if I wanted to hike back up to the "upper city" or simply take the local, and totally free, elevator! I have to say, I have heard before that people have visited Luxembourg and been so unimpressed they drive through to France or Belgium, but all I can say is that they must not have put on their walking shoes and truly seen the city....







Trish xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 49, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Hidden forest paths...Hidden forest paths...
Hidden forest paths...

in the middle of the city!


Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0906s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb