Memorable Malta... Country #75!!!!!


Advertisement
Malta's flag
Europe » Malta
April 9th 2012
Published: May 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hi all,







Magnificent Malta!!! This trip was an extra special trip for me, because it marked the 75th country I have visited to date. Unfortunately, I was sick heading out, so it was also one of my most relaxing trips ever... but more out of necessity than choice. I arrived in Malta and made way way up to the northern tip of the big island. I planted myself in a rather decent hotel, overlooking the ferry to the next island, Gozo. For the first few days, I was very thankful that I could see the ocean from my room, as that is all I seemed to see.







After a few days, I ventured out for some short walks and to sit in the warm afternoon sun. I was shocked and amazed at the local roads. The island was covered in road work, and alternate routes, and construction concrete piled up on the side of the roads made some simply un-walkable. So, I wandered off onto local roads, but each time I seemed to find myself at a dead-end on someone's property with tiny harvesting land or animals in little huts...and often dogs chasing me back to the main street. At first I thought it was an adventure, but as I continued to pick local dead-end roads, and was forced back to the main road, pointing the opposite direction to the coast line, I decided I would simply have to ask for help. I went to some local people and asked them how to get to the houses that I could see just a kilometer or two away. The answer was unanimous. It was not possible. My only "choice" was to follow the main road into the nearest city. (Or, of course, I could take the ferry to the next island). So I decided to do both.







Early one morning I set off for Gozo and was not disappointed, well, aside from the bus service! I found the old city and following some terrible maps proceeded to get lost a few times, but managed to see Victoria, a lively center with an incredible Citadella. I wandered through the high points, looking at rolling green hills and passed by golden-sand coloured buildings and churches. After enough of the main city, I followed the crowds to see the Ggantija Temples (the oldest free-standing temple in the world). Although incredible, it took about 10 minutes to see the ruins thoroughly and then I was on my way to Dwejra Bay and all I can say is wow. An incredible view of rock formations bordering on and jutting into/out of the post-card blue ocean. I sat for hours, taking in the sun and the view, and exploring the length of the coast. If I had been feeling better, I would have returned to Dwerja Bay a few more times, but I was at the end of my time, so the last day I stayed around the big island, exploring the local streets and finally catching a bus up to see pop-eye's village. Albeit a child-themed center, I went at the end of the day with two travelers I met and we did a quick sweep of the child-free, but closing center and it turned out to be the perfect end to a great trip.







Until next time...







Trish xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.095s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb