Weekend Trip to Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
May 28th 2010
Published: April 3rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

As begins my Roman Holiday. I decided to take a train down to Rome for a weekend during my study abroad so I could meet up with some friends that were passing through: mainly my roommate (Jesse from back home), her boyfriend (Lucan), and the boy I had been seeing at the time (Sam)...

Journal entry...

Was the first to arrive in Rome. The train ride was beautiful. Jesse came next, then the boys. Over the weekend, we hit all of the major sites as we winded our way through the city. Lucan was a very good planner in terms of getting to see everything and not having to plan it out ourselves. We joined a tour to see the Vatican and skipped the line by doing so. I highly recommend doing this to anyone wanting to see the Vatican, because otherwise you will end up dehydrating while standing in line all day.

Some of the most memorable aspects from the weekend:


• First sight of Sam walking in. Him picking me up and swinging me around in circles in our hostel room.
• The Vatican and all of its beauty
• The church with the perspective ceiling. A
31791_10150183905670455_6703106_n31791_10150183905670455_6703106_n31791_10150183905670455_6703106_n

our topless hostel room
painting on the flat ceiling made the ceiling look rounded and open. It was so good that I was fooled and in disbelief. I believe it was the church of Saint Ignazio. Of all the churches in Rome, I highly recommend seeing this one.
• Trying my best to keep hydrated and continually stopping for food. We once came to this pizzeria down a winding alley that I will probably never be able to find again. Sam and I danced on this street in joy and I remember being very happy.
• Hiking up a hill and seeing a gathering of people all lined up to took through a keyhole in a large door. Curiosity struck so we waited to see. When we looked through the hole we saw the sun setting over the Vatican at the far end of tree lined dirt road. There was something so perfect about this that no words can quite express the purity of it.
• Declaring our hostel shared room to be the topless room.
• Borrowing a black dress+belt from Jesse and going out on the town with Sam. Sharing a few beers with people we met then sharing a moment with Sam on the stairwell of our hostel when we returned.



But of course, the weekend came to end and I returned to Florence and Jesse returned to Spain (her Study Abroad) and the boys continued traveling for a couple more weeks before returning home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb