Romantic Venice


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
September 13th 2012
Published: September 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

If you read this blog it will mean I survived Venice. Yes, you read right.

And although Venice is beautiful and romantic and you could loose yourself in this place, I am glad we can move on.

Those of you who know we well know that I am not scared of water. No, I am terrified. And as luck would have it with the accommodation we have, we didn't live on Venice, but on a smaller island, Sant Erasmo.

This meant a 20 minute commute to Venice or Murano were we wanted to be.

And as MZ sits on the deck enjoying the view, I sit inside, in the aisle, staring at my feet. Yesterday and this morning the waterboat only had seats downstairs, which meant the level of the ocean and my eye level were kinda at one. My heart started punding in my ears but I kept my cool.

Even this morning, we got up at 04:30, half walked, half ran a kilometer in the rain to get to the waterboat and then had to endure 20 minutes on the boat, I had it coming, not only were I surrounded with water, no, the heavens also had to open up. I felt my eyes well up but it was still a long way to get to the station and I closed my eyes.

At quarter to six we had a bit to walk to the station, about 4km. but now we are on the train to Milan.

But Venice was amazing and we enjoyed the glass products of Murano, we took narrow pathways and enjoyed watching the people. We had to cross a hundred bridges and we even heard someone serenade a couple on a gondola...

It was also here were we found a cocoktail and juice, in the middle of the street, just a cart that has been set up. And the cocktails were soooo good.

i really wanted pasta and we sat at a bar with an arrogant waiter. We got pasta, nicely warmed from the microwave, still cold in the middle.

We got fooled with a tv dinner...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb