Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
September 30th 2011
Published: September 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Rome
Least said about this place, the better.
Beautiful place, divine weather - loved the weather, we had a few thunder clouds pass by, beautifully wicked lightning and thunder and wonderful food, could eat those itailian meals forever ... pity about the people.

My impression is the Romans know they rely on the tourists that teem all over the place (bit like how flies teem over a well dead carcass) but hate them as well for that very same reason. It is not only the 'gypsys' the tourist has to beware of but also the restaurant owners. They will rip you off just as fast, twice I had to ask for correct change from the same person for the one transaction and still didnt get the correct change and that happened in more than one place. While I know they like their tips, having to ask them for a bit more change than a few coins from a $50. euro note for eg an $17.00 charge for food and drink (what was worth only about $5.00 in the first place if you ask me having to stomp foot to get more than only a couple of coins returned is not my idea of a fair go.

Another thing, if you get unsure of your bearings dont bother asking for directions, they will invariably tell you they dont know and looking for sign posts is something you'll look for in vain as well
Overall Rome was a big disappointment and not somewhere I'll bother with exploring further in the future. .. It is the people that make or break a place and quite frankly, they have broken it.

Getting back into the UK wasnt much fun either, was it my vibes over my disappointing stay in Rome or what? but the 'immigrations' lady checking passports was one arrogant cow that badly needs an attitude adjustment. Why my husband was not with me is absolutely none of her damned business, she seriously got my back up and as we all know us little nobodies are not allowed to get pissy with nosey cows having a power thrill I reduced my answers to a very clipped short, narrowed eyed yes or no's and when she reminded me she was 'immirgrations' my very short reply was I didnt care, I'm not immigrating, I'm on bloody holiday.
She graciously stamped my passport with the orders that if I wasnt gone from the country by the 8th I'd be deported.... pffffffffftttttt.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.391s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0796s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb