Reader's Digest Version of First Half of April Break


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
April 10th 2010
Published: April 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Italy Trip


Right now I'm about halfway through April Break! I have internet in the hostel we're staying at in Rome, but I don't want to spend all my time on the computer so I'll give you a quick update of what I've been up to with more detailed entries to come!

Allison and I left last Friday to go to Catania, Sicily where we enjoyed a day walking around the city, then a day with a guided Tour of Mt. Etna--Europe's largest Volcano! It's still active today, and we saw sites of the larger lava flows in 1971, 79, and 2002, which was really cool! We also got to do a little cave diving in a lava cave from a really really really long time ago. Then we moved onto Taormina which was absolutely beautiful, saw the cute little city and the amazing amphitheater that was built in 3 BC, and took the next day to just relax on the beach close to our cute little B&B (where our inn keeper spoke no English, but was very nice.)

We then moved onto Palermo, which was fun to see, but sadly the one main museum we wanted to see was closed, as well as a few other sites we had wanted to see. It was still a fun stay in Sicily--it was beautiful and not like anywhere I'd ever been before. It very much had an islandy feeling to it, and reminded me of Hawaii in some respect, but the terrain was so mountainous and there were cliffs and beaches everywhere and absolutely beautiful.

From Palermo, we traveled to Rome, and met up with five other DGs which has been fabulous. We've only had about two and a half days here and we could spend tons more time, but we've done all the major sites--Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Vatican/Sistine Chapel, etc. The weather has been beautiful here and getting around has been easy to figure out. We both could spend more time here but are looking forward to heading to Athens tomorrow!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



9th April 2010

I enjoyed your Italy post. I have always wanted to go there. My blog is looking for travel photos. If you have the time, email us some at dirtyhippiesblog@gmail.com or check us out at dirty-hippies.blogspot.com Continued fun on your travels, Eric
13th April 2010

fabulous Sicily!
Hi Val, Thanks for the quick update on your vacation. Sounds wonderful. We, too, have been to Taormina but not to Mt. Etna. Happy to hear that your trip is going well and hope that it continues to do so. Love, Grandma
13th April 2010

April Break
Thanks for the update! The photos are terrific--I especially like the sunrise photo and the photos with you in them! I miss your smiling face. I can't wait to hear all the details!

Tot: 0.214s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb