Ciao Bella/Bellos!!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
August 8th 2007
Published: August 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, so I have just found out the website crashed and I had no idea so none of you probably got my last entry from Ireland? Well I really cant be bothered typing it all again and it seems like so long ago I cant remenber what I typed anyway! Oh and ignore the last one that came through cause it was just a recovery of one I had already done!!

I had already finished typing this and went to find my camera cord to upload the pictures and video and I cant seem to find it...which is a bugger cause they are what make the whole thing so sorry this is going to be a boring one!

The title it's a miracle was beacuse it finally stopped raining! Any-hoo, I am curently in Venice so I will just commence from there! This keyboard is a killer buttons all in the wrong placs so excuse the typing!

You won't believe it....we have 44 girls and 6 boys on the tour...most they have ever had in a group. NOT HAPPY JAN!! But most of them are pretty cool and most of us are getting along! The boys are good fun too, especially our driver and cook who is an absolute crack up! (Note: I actually started typing this yesterday in Rome and as at today this status has changed somewhat and people are starting to shit me, in particular the canadians..man they are loud! I think everyone is starting to get over the driving and being with the same people all the time...I have no uidea how people to the 28 or 49 day tours I'd end up in jail for murder I'm sure!

Well I left sunny old Ireland (seriously!) and headed back to London to start my tour. So off we headed on the first day which was 1st August we got on the bus and went to the White Cliffs of Dover to get on the cruise ship for the trip over to France. That was lovely, sitting out on the deck, soaking up the sun!

We got into Calais and then had a 4 hour drive from Calias to Paris. We got to this dodgy hotel on the outskirts and had some funky looking dinner which was supposed to be veal but we aren't really sure what it was! Then we got back on the bus and went on a night driving tour past all the usual places! Eiffel Tower was lovely at night time, we drove through the concord and the next day rode bikes through there which was a bit exciting! They are the worst drivers I have ever seen in Paris let me tell you!

So next day we were out in the city left to our own devices. My little group went to the Louvre and then Notre Dame. We all agreed an hour was more than enough of the Louvre and we did the usual seeing the mona lisa and that was our culture injection! Bit boring really unless you are into art! Then we wandered to Notre Dame which was just amazing. They had mass going on when we walked in and that place is pretty cool given I'm not much into churches! Then in the arvo we went on a bike tour past all the traditional spots and got a guide of what was what and why it was there etc.

That was actually our worst weather day as it was quite cool and then we had a champagne picnic at the park right next to the Eiffel Tower which was lovely, until it started raining and was freezing! A fair few girls were going to the caberet after dinner and were dressed up so they sat on the bus cause they didn't want to get wet! The rest of us braved it.

So after dinner we were going to do a river cruise but decided we'd seen pretty much everything already and was too cold so we stayed under the eiffel tower drinking the left over champagne! Then we decided to climb the tower, can't remember how many steps to the 2nd floor but ALOT is a good answer! We were going to go all the way to the top but the queue was huge so gave that a miss. The view was pretty darn cool though and I have video etc which I'll put on here for you to look at if I can work out how to use it!. After that we drunk a bit more and ran to meet the bus.

We have a thing called the Cow Bell of Shame which is exactly that, a cowbell and who ever does the most embarassing thing for that day or night has to wear it the hole next day everywhere we go. Well it only took the one night for someone to earn it. A Canadian guy, Logan drunk soooo much champagne at the picnic he couldnt walk anymore and then instead of seeing the eiffel tower in all its glory he was chucking up all over the garden. We had to get the cook to help him on th bus and we sat him on the steps with a garbage bag and in between spews he was giving the thumbs up and saying having a good time. It was pretty funny!

So anyhoo we left Paris early the next morning for Switzerland where we had a 10 and a half hour drive. We played getting to know you games so it actually passed quite quicky but still, long bloody day on a bus! We finally landed at the campsite in Lauterbrunnen which was at the bottom of this valley which was something out of a postcard. Snow covered mountains on on side, water falls on the other, really beautiful. See pictures for that! Were not sure what was wrong with us but by the time we got given dinner it was past 10pm and we were all buggered so we got into our bunk beds in the cabins just like at school camp! And went to bed early!

Next day, Saturday 3rd, we could pretty much do what we liked so a whole group of us went to Jungfrau which is the tallest mountain in Europe for a train to go up at 4000 something metres! It was pretty expensive but well worth it. You catch the train up the mountain through tracks and tunnels that have been dug into the side, quite unbelievable really. It took about 2 hours to get there and was freezing! When we got to the top we went to the viewing platform and it was a real wow moment. Snow covered mountains on one side, hills on the other and the sun was shining for the lovliest day.

They had made an ice palace carved into the mountain which was pretty good. So we were there for hours and all the girls went down to the actual snow and so did I till I saw 5 people fall over in about 2 minutes cause they had normal shoes on! I decided I wasnt going to be one of those people apart from the fact I had no sunnies and the sun glare off the snow was crazy. Like one of those dreams when you cant open your eyes, well that was me and I was blinded for 10 minutes after I came back in! So I went back up to the viewing deck and sat in the sun and somehow managed to fall asleep. I wake up about 20 minutes later to some kid right in my face staring at me! Scared the living daylights out of me!

And I couldnt believe it, no one had told us we needed a different adaptor in Switzerland cause the Swiss decided they didnt want to be part of Europe so not one person had an adaptor, everyone had dead phones and cameras and I wasnt sure how much charge left I had on my camera so I saved my photos for the top of the mountain and I turn it on and it beeps and dies. NOT amused! But I got a few after it was turned on and off to get a couple! Jumped back on the train, had turned into the perfect day so had the windows open.

We stopped at this tee pee thing about half way down and had shots of who knows what but it was disgusting! Something the barman made up! and then got back on the train and entertained some americans who were lucky enough to be in our carriage! It was quite amusing. We had dinner in the pub at campsite and then the night continued on and got quite messy really with most people pissed cause altitude and alcohol arent a great mix! Myself included,but they had a juke box with all aussie songs, majority of us are aussie..so of course we were all singing and dancing all night till we got kicked out! Up early again the next morning, packed up and onto the bus again for another whole day of driving! Off to ....ITALY which is where I am now!

Tuesday we got into Florence via Pisa (boring as shit, a building that is crooked and that is it (seriously nothing else there but the leaning tower. people were taking the photos of them holding it up and stuff and the rest of us were just thinking hmm...why are we even here! We all wanted to get to Florence but team Korea...we have nicknamed all the nationalities team whatever...were taking pictures of EVERYTHING and I mean everything. God they must have a 500GB memory stick!

We arrived in Florence at about 9am and went on a guided tour and it was the lovliest place I have ever been! We only had half a day there which was disappointing cause we all fell in love with it! So we had 2 free hours after the tour to wander around which we did! Hard to explain how nice it is really!

Back on the bus to Rome where we had a 4 hour walking tour...my feet were killing me! But we got to see Trevi Fountain and Colleseum and experience the Metro (railway). They managed to scare the begeezus out of us about pickpockets so were were all freaking out when we got there! I loved Rome the city though. It was exactly as I had imagined but dirtier! Its such a shame they dont look after it. On our free day in Rome myself and another girl went wandering cause we wanted the rip off handbags that the dodgy Nigerians sell on the side of the street. So we happen to go looking on Raid day and the police were all over the joint, it was really funny. We were looking at this one bag and the police snuck up behind us and started yelling..we wandered off like nothing had happened and there was about 20 bag & sunnies sellers on the square we were at and it was like a domino effect. They set them all up on the ground or in their arms and within 1 minute everyone had packed up and started running down the street to get away from the police. I couldnt stop laughing it was such a funny sight. But the police dont do much so they are back in 5 minutes! I also needed some sunnies cause I was starting to go blind from the sun! I found ones I wanted and just as we finally agreed on a price...got him down from $25 to $5 the police came back so he chucked the sunnies at me as Im going in one direction and I cgucked the 5 at him as he was going off in the other direction. We could not stop laughing when we got around the corner! We figured that was the best way to bargain though, when they just want the sale before they make the dash!

We also saw the most homeless guy we have ever seen, full on a years worth of food & spit and stuff in his manky beard and in winter clothes! It was boiling outside! We waited an hour for a bus that never arrived so ended up lost somewhere else for the day but finally made our way back. We had a great time though and were very entertained!

That night (well about 3am) I woke to feel our cabin moving from side to side, I started freaking out thinking it was an earthquake or something and my roomie wakes up and says what the hell is that but then it stopped so we went back to sleep but 2 minutes later it started up again. I said I'd go out and have a look outside so she follows me out there and we discover it was the people behind us who were joined to us by one wall, having a lovely old time! I dont think I need to say what doing! But we walked past their open window saying things to get them to settle down a bit! It was an eventful day!

Then we headed off for Venice via Verona yesterday, another full day of driving. I decided to make up nicknames for every single person which I managed to do and of course everyone wanted to hear them so I had to change a few for public hearing! We have a couple of girls we call Posh & Becks cause they look like them and act like them and do nothing to help and dont lift a finger and dress perfectly, wont do anything that might ruin make up or hair etc etc so I needed to come up with new names for them! My nick name is now Legs. (original aren't they!). In Rome the cowbell of shame was passed onto Ryan who was drunk for 2 days straight and when the cook got up early day before last to get ready for breakfast he lifted the side of the tent (like a party tent) to find Ryan sleeping on the bench outside. He woke him up and Ryan says morning...time for a beer and went off to drink again! Trooper! Oh and one of the girls got it for running into an electric fence. Hilarious...or at least I thought it was!

So we wandered around Verona for a few hours and then drove the last couple of hours to Venice.

Verona was beautiful. We of course went to Juliets blacony which was very unexciting and I was busting for the loo so went off to find one...wandered around by myself for a while, bought a couple of souveniers and it was time to leave.

Arrived in venice about 6pm last night and had dinner together which was mixed grill which we loved cause we had been craving meat! I am actually starting to look like an Etheopian from all the bread I have been eating...you know how they are skinny with a big bloated gut, yep thats me. Look like Im 3 months pregnant! So from now on it's toast for breakfast and thats my only bread. I was starting to turn into a baguette I was eating so much! Its just so nice over here! Pasta too...I dont know how they can make plain old tomatos taste so good!

After dinner we all got dolled up and headed off to the bar for happy hour and a drinking game. This was not a great idea cause the crazy bar owner was walking around pouring sambuca out of the bottle down peoples throats and it was getting messy very quickly with the cheapest drinks we have had all tour!

There was bar dancing at one stage, yes I got up there, I was having a great old time! Got too hot though eventually and we all went outside and once we were out that was it. People were just too drunk and our driver who hasnt been able to drink really, this is the main stop for him and he made the most of it let me tell you! We were warned that Venice was the biggest night of the tour and we werent disapponited! Many many sore heads this morning! Lucky we also got a 8.30am sleep in!

We went into Venice island about 9.30am and I had NO idea that you werent allowed to have cars there. Where the hell was I in history class when they talked about that! Everything gets shipped in and out by boat! Even the police and fire are boat! Classic! But a beautiful city again and no cars was fantastic but heaps of stupid tourists out on a Sunday stroll and I was starting ot get cranky cause people just dont get out of the way AGH!! We all went on a gondola ride of course down the grand canal and we had a perfect day weather wise cause last night it poured with rain so today was hot and sunny and the river cruise couldnt have been better! >So pretty with all the old building and the water. Definately on par for my fav place so far with Florence. I went off after that by myself cause I needed some Lauren time! Had to get away from people! I had a great time walking around the shops, bought heaps of presents!

Came back as it started raining so it's 4pm here. Will finish up here and look for my next place to stay after the tour in Portugal and then go do some washing cause I seriously have no clean clothes and am a stinky backpacker! Then it will be dinner and no doubt more drinks! I'm actually starting to get used to having a hangover!

Off to Austria tomorrow. We have optional excursions there which I wont say what they are now cause mum will freak out and it's all dependant on numbers so I'll fill you in after tomorrow! Am looking forward to it though! Mozzie central here, got so many bites already.

There have been lots of really good moments and lots of laughs but you kind of have to be there and know the people so I'm just giving you the touristy stuff!!

Only 5 days to go YEAH! Then I need to work on evening up my tan! And what the hell is the deal with speedos over here. God people, put it away, we dont need to see it. Every 2nd bloke has them and its disgusting!!

Will probably wirte again after my trip has finished. Has been quite hard to get time for internet cause we are always doing something or I am too hungover & tired to go searching for a computer and typing! Oh and I didnt end up getting my dodgy bag...but I'm sure I'll find one in Spain!!

Byeeeee xxxx Ciao (and yes thats hello & goodbye!!)
Lauren

Advertisement



Tot: 0.437s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0804s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb