To Be Sure To Be Sure...take 2 after the crash!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway » Galway
July 27th 2007
Published: August 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I need to come up with some better names for these entries don't I!!

Welcome to Ireland where it has rained 60 days straight...luckily it only rains for a little while then the sun comes out, but none the less still worst June/July on record! Like as in EVER!! Are you hearing me people...what happened to Summer. I didn't bring enough warm clothes with me!

Ireland is so much better than London and the people are so much nicer and I just love their accent. I can't hear the words three and thirteen enough, it cracks me up everytime! And the kids when they talk is just too cute.

I spent 2 days in Dublin which was nice, did the touristy things and went to Temple Bar at night to hear traditional Irish music and mingle with the other million tourists here!

I met a couple from Australia with their (very cute) son who moved to London 6 months ago (the son not the parents!) so they were over visiting and you will not believe where they live....116 Holmes Road, Moonee Ponds!! No shit! Now for those who don't know what this means, Courtney lives at 140
Galway
Spanish Arch. It's all I've managed to take a picture of cause I had to walk past it!! It is black and running so fast and looks bloody freezing!! Apparantly quite a few people fall in and drown on th... and I used to live there with her, that's how we know each other! How freaky is that, practically neighbours and we meet all the way over in Ireland!!

Small world I tell you!

I did the hop on/off bus tour in Dublin and had some of the funniest bus drivers ever, singing and making bad jokes it was great! I stayed in a hostel but in a room by myself which looked like a bomb had hit it once I unpacked my stuff cause it was so tiny. Not sure how I'm going to go when I actually have to share! Not good I'm thinking!

My bag hasn't got any lighter, bruises have started to ease up a bit but still bloody painful to carry around!

Yesterday I caught the bus to Galway which is about 4 hours from Dublin on the ocean. The country side when I could stay awake was really nice with some very cute towns that you think they have put there just for laugh...and what's with the stone fences. How the hell do they even stay up with nothing but rocks wedged into each other! I don't get it!

Dublin

Anyway Galway bay goes into the Atlantic Ocean and it's really lovely. Pretty much what I imagined Ireland to look like!

I haven't done any exploring yet as I only got here late yesterday and spent 2 hours trying to find a laundromat so I could have some clean clothes! And I went out last night to a bar called the Kings Head which was full of locals. Thank god, I finally got to meet some Irish people cause there weren't many in Dublin!

I met up with these boys who were an absolute riot. Gary the model, Anthony the..not sure what but he was hilarious and Jonny the red headed galic footballer. Haven't laughed so hard for ages. So they were good fun. Then I met a bunch of Aussies who were all working here and they were great too. Going out with them again tomorrow night which will be fun.

So today I have a massive headache and I think the internet is about all I can manage at the moment...was only going to have a few quiet drinks...the pubs shut at 2pm here but we went to an after bar which I'm not sure
Dublin Toilet
I know, but I had to take a picture of this. All you could see was the toilet paper and yur finger nails..oh and the lint on your jumper! Junkies are kept well and truly at bay here. This was a bar th... now was a good idea! Good time was had though.

At the Kings Head, they had he most fantastic band I think I have ever heard. 7 guys who all sung & played all instruments and played blues/roots kind of music but did versions for example like Gold Digger which were just so good. I was very impressed. And where they played was the back of the room where it was a massive blue stone semi circle wall stretching up as far as the eye could see. I wish I had have had my camera.

This keyboard is starting to annoy me. They keys keep sticking and my arms are getting sore from having to bash so hard to get them to work!

I think I might go get a drink and just sit down for a bit once I'm done here and then go for a walk. Might just have a few beers tonight and keep off the Vodka redbull..who ever invented that crap should be shot!

The place I'm staying at here in Galway is a guest house in the most beautiful house with a lovely lady running it. It's about a 10-15 minute walk from town. It's also the arts festival here at the moment and Race Week from what I'm told is basically the Spring Carnival of Ireland and people come from everywhere. I think though the actual racing starts the day after I leave which I'm spewing about but will have to look into that a bit more as they say it's one of the best things to go to.

So lots going on here and I'm here till Sunday and then head back to London just for the night before I start my tour which I'm looking forward to as I'm a bit bored of my own company now...as lovely as I am and all!

So not too much news, just sight seeing and drinking, which I think is all I came here for anyway! Only taken a couple of pics so I will add them. Not very good at getting my camera out for things!

Hope everyone is well, especially my pregnant friends!

Love & Miss everyone xx


Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb