Viva Vicenza!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Vicenza
June 19th 2008
Published: June 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well I've been in Vicenza for about 3 days now! It is beautiful! My friend whose apt I'm staying at put me in contact with one of his friends who lives here since he is away in Afghanistan. Her name is Cristina also and she picked me up from the airport which was nice since it is almost an hour drive! There aren't really any rules on the highway which was quite interesting. So we got into town and unless you have a resident permit you can't drive through downtown so we parked the car in a lot and I rolled my 60 lb suitcase across the square. The elevator to the apt. barely fit the two Christina's and 60lb suitcase but we managed. The apt is so cute and is right downtown so I've been walking all over and if you get tired you just stroll back home, everything is a short distance from one another. The first night Cristina took me to one of her favorite restaurants where I enjoyed some authentic Lasangne with salad and a Spritz which was really good! Had some espresso and finished the meal off with a Limoncello which is a lemon infused liquor that's pretty strong and goes straight through the sinuses..good though 😊 We then walked around the square and grabbed some gelato...delicious which I had more of yesterday and will again today...hoping all the walking will keep all that cream from going to my thighs! Yesterday was fun, Cristina had to work so I was all on my own..the market was set up so I got a little confused and it took me an hour to find the cell phone store and used the little Italian I knew "Parla inglese?" "Do you speak english?" Which he did so I got my phone all set up so feel free to call! 011-0039-346-574-9410. After that I was pretty hungry so I stopped at some random place once again practicing my Italian "Parla inglese?" This time he said NO...shit...so I ordered a pizza salami piccante and an acqua (water) then text cristina how to say to go box and looked in my phrase book to ask for the bill and survived! Not sure what adventures await me today but I will keep you posted. Pictures will be up soon hopefully once I get internet working at the apt. I've just been going to an
Torre di PiazzaTorre di PiazzaTorre di Piazza

pre-Palladio architecture
internet cafe so haven't had the chance 😞
Ciao!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

The Great PalladioThe Great Palladio
The Great Palladio

Palladio was Vicenza's head architect, this year marks his 500 year anniversay!
ApartmentApartment
Apartment

Cristina's boyfriends apartment where I have been staying a few nights while I get the other one cleaned up since it hasn't been lived in for over a year!


21st June 2008

Sounds like everything is going GREAT!!! Keep posting blogs, I am sure I'll never go to Europe, therefore I'm expecting you to fill me in on all the juicy details. As they say, I'm living vicariuosly through you! Much love and prayers- Jenn
21st June 2008

Visit
I enjoy hearing about your trip. Wish I could share in your adventure. I am so glad you have gotten the opportunity to take your dream trip. Take it all in and share all the details---Well most of the details........ Love ya- Aunt Debbie
23rd June 2008

Fun
Looks like your enjoying yourself already. be careful, Love DAD

Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0593s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb