Fat cats and penis shorts


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
August 16th 2007
Published: December 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We had a bit of a sleep in to wear off the wine from the previous night. Once again it was a hot sunny day (I want to be back there now, writing this now I am in London and I think the sun may have become extinct). Anyway we walked all over the show passed the myriad of fruit markets and stacks of tourist stalls selling leather bags, masks, glass ornaments, and shorts with penises on. Brendon has a nice pair he bought here last time. I thought about buying some, but decided ice-cream was a better investment.

It is amazing the number of photos and videos that you probably get in, my ugly mug is scattered all over the world in peoples photo collections, lucky buggars. What cracks me up is what parents will do to their kids to get a good photo, like putting seeds all over their kids head so they are covered in pigeons. I suppose it could be worse for the kids, they could have gone to see lions.

I thought I’d share a few facts about Venice, there are only 405 gondolas in Venice now, even though they seem to be everywhere. Apparently there used to be over 10,000. They are expensive to build and are made out of hundreds of pieces. The Rialto bridge once collapsed in 1444 under the weight of the crowd on it, it has been sorted now though, they decided wood wasn’t the best material when they rebuilt it. Marco Polo is a famous Venetian, I never knew why though, apparently he was a merchant traveler who introduced Venetian blinds and pasta to the western world. American people are easy to spot anywhere in the world because they are so loud, it’s amazing how loud they can talk to someone who is just next to them.

Enough schooling, later on we had a siesta in the park. (Brendon there is a massive park and a football ground at one end of the island, can’t believe we didn’t see it last time). We also found a fountain that was full of turtles, was rather bizarre. Another animal you see a lot of is cats, apparently they are popular with Venetians mainly to help the rat problem.

You can’t go to Venice without eating pizza, that’s another rule, so Nic and I pigged out later that night and I once again had wine, this time I was more accustomed and didn’t stumble, well not much.



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb