Beautiful city of Florence, Italy--It JUST Keeps getting better!!!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
July 13th 2007
Published: July 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Feeding the birdsFeeding the birdsFeeding the birds

St Marco Square. This is a popular past time during the day
Another train ride through beautiful Italy countryside. After arriving at Santa Lucia rail station, I realized I was not the only tourist around. Then off in a water bus to my stop at the Rialto station, just a few steps from the famous Rialto Bridge. Oh Dear, did I really have to bring that big suitcase, which I actually had to carry all the way up and then all the way down the steps (No lifts here). I am now really putting all that gym time to use as without it I do not know what I would have done. Anyways, my hotel Ovidius was just on the other side, overlooking the famous bridge and canal. How great was that. A superb place to stay. Again I walked km, got lost, with not much help from the locals, but did manage and somehow again did return to the Piazza San Marco. By the way here, an American Cup of Coffee, to me was a Canadian version of Espresso, but good. I really wanted to have a ride on a gondolier, but at the cost of 100 Euro, I heard for an hour night trip, changed my mind. I met 2
The clock towerThe clock towerThe clock tower

What an impressive tower this is in the square
ladies and a daughter from England, Annette, Pat and Amy. We sat along the canal comparing our countries and sharing funny stories. We sat all evening long. What a very nice time we had. The San Marco Square was full of people from all over the world, sitting and walking and listening to concertos from various points around the very large square. Dinner was a delicious meal of fish and potatoes. What an enchanting place - very romantic. The next day had me traveling on a water bus to the airport to continue my travels onto Athens Greece. Am I tried Yet!!!!!! My nephew, George, met me at the airport. He certainly is a handsome fellow!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

The famouse Rialto BridgeThe famouse Rialto Bridge
The famouse Rialto Bridge

When I arrived I had to carry my suitcase over this bridge to my hotel on this side of the bridge. I could see the bridge from my hotel


21st July 2007

Hello from St. Albert
We have been enjoying the pictures and your blog. We are leaving for a trip to Sask.(family time with Jim's sisters and cousins.) We will then head to Montana to a rock show to meet Friends. They will have some field trips where we will rockhound.Will catch up with your trip when we come home. Brandy is in charge of watering my plants.Have safe travelling.Hello to Arlene and Nick.

Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.1099s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb