Beautiful City of Florence, Italy


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
July 11th 2007
Published: July 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Countryside from Rome to FlorenceCountryside from Rome to FlorenceCountryside from Rome to Florence

While I was on the train, beautiful
I arrived in the morning early with the Eurostar train. A very nice ride from Rome to Florence to see the green countryside. Once I arrived, although my hotel was close to the station, as I planned, FlorenceFlorenceFlorence

Your choice of ice cream
did see an inside garden though, which was peaceful. There are so many gorgeous buildings to see. After an absolute full day of walking and touring I actually went (don,t tell anyone) to a macdonald,s rest only because I wanted a plain green salad and american coffee. The food is excellent here, but unless you actually sit down to a dinner the shops all have the same thing, delicious pizza-thin crust, pinini sandwiches and sweets. I wanted something light. Anyways I ate and headed back in the evening to my hotel. My evening was spent in the nice lounge area with a fantastic strawberry dessert, wine, and a nice cup of coffee. The hotel is full of american and some canadians plus other Europeans. Many girls and women travelling on their own. I must say when you are on your own you have time to see all the sites. The next day I was out all morning and am waiting for my 4 pm train to Venice for 2 nights. I must rest my feet for more walking and sites. What an adventure.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Florence- MichaelangeloFlorence- Michaelangelo
Florence- Michaelangelo

I took a long walk to this statue ont he other side of the river in Florence way up a hill in very hot weather
The beautiful buildings in the squareThe beautiful buildings in the square
The beautiful buildings in the square

This is Florence with lots and lots of tourists
More Florence Square buildingsMore Florence Square buildings
More Florence Square buildings

You absolutely marvel at these structures
Florence skylineFlorence skyline
Florence skyline

Looking from high up at the Michaelangelo Statue


11th July 2007

So much to do
I am glad you are having an awesome adventure. I had to chuckle when I heard about the Japanese tourists. We have a lot of them her and I can identify. Keep on exploring, and have fun. You are doing well. Love, Jocelyn
13th July 2007

You are so lucky
I am so excited for you. You are taking a trip of a lifetime. Hopefully in my lifetime I will be able to do such a thing. Thank you for sharing your wonderful pics and diary with us. It really makes me wish I could be there. I say never say never. Well have more fun and keep sending pics and notes, it is a wonderful treat for us all. Love Peggy

Tot: 0.317s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0708s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb