Home, Sweet Castle


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
June 13th 2005
Published: June 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

On Juliet's balconyOn Juliet's balconyOn Juliet's balcony

I apologize for the darkness of this pic, but you can't be too picky when asking stangers to take the picture! You get the idea! :)
Ciao! I survived another Italian adventure! This weekend was the most challenging so far. I definitely encountered the language barrier more since I was visiting smaller towns. All in all, I had a good time and I am ready to tackle finals this week. I left for Verona on Friday afternoon and spent all of Saturday there. As with most towns in Italy, Verona is home to many, many beautiful churches. It's amazing how a town of that size can have SO many Catholic churches -- and they are all magnificent compared to anything in the States. I went to mass at St. Anastasia and a woman sang an opera-like solo during Communion. It was gorgeous. She sang without a mic and her voice just carried through the Church like an angel's. I have a feeling she might be taking part in the Opera season that starts next week. Yes, I just missed the Verona opera -- bummer! Along with churches, I also explored the Castelvecchio (Castle), Teatro Romano, and the Casa de Guiletta. Yes, Verona is known for a little story called "Romeo and Juliet". 😊

I moved on to Padova (Padua in English) on Sunday morning. The train
Romeo's viewRomeo's viewRomeo's view

This is what Romeo would have seen when he looked up at Juliet's balcony.
was entirely full so I camped out in the doorway for the hour ride. Gotta love overbooking Italian-style! Padova is the town that just about drove me to insanity. It wasn't that big but for some reason I could not find my way around! Plus, this town observes the Sabbath like none other!! There were hardly any stores or restaurants open. Thank goodness for Brek -- a cafeteria-style restaurant chain here in Italy. The food is actually very good and their hours are a lifesaver!! I saw the Basilica of St. Anthony which was an amazing experience. I read that this church is actually one of the main pilimigrate sites in the world. St. Anthony is known for being the patron saint of miracles, lost things, and (appropriately) travelers. The people visiting obviously brought their hopes and prayers from all the world. For example, the sanctuary was filled with the sounds of live African music. The scene illustrated something about the Catholic church that I often forget exists . . . diversity.

I also visited the Scovegni Chapel, which is the second most famous chapel in Europe (behind the Sistine, of course). I had to reserve a ticket in
Piazza Bra, VeronaPiazza Bra, VeronaPiazza Bra, Verona

Isn't this scene what you imagine when you think of Italy? I hope Piazza Bra is the right name -- I've been to dozens and dozens of piazzas this weekend alone!
advance and the doors automatically opened and closed within one minute. If you missed the opening, you were out of luck! Anyway, we watched a video about the history of the chapel while the humidity levels adjusted and then we were allowed 15 minutes inside the chapel. It was stunningly beautiful. The walls were frescoes of different scenes in Mary's and Jesus' lives. The back wall was a large scene depicting the Last Judgment with good and evil on opposite sides. Finally, the chapel is completed with a starry sky for a ceiling. Amazing.

My luck made a change for the better this morning. I just made the train to Castelfranco Veneto when I arrived at the station this morning so no waiting involved. Then I was able to get a cheap cab back to Asolo. Yeah!! I'm off to the market to get a few groceries and then schoolwork is on the agenda. Finals week is upon me . . . unbelievable!! Where have the weeks gone?!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb