I'm still stuffed!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
June 10th 2005
Published: June 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Buongiorno! TGIF! 😊 Last night we had our "gourmet dinner" and I am still recovering (in a good way!). They bussed us to a restaurant in a castle (yes, in a castle) about eight miles outside of Bassano. It was about a half hour away so we did not get back to Asolo until midnight. The walk up the gigantic hill was lots of fun due to our sleepiness and stuffedness (how's that for a word?)!

The meal was an amazing five courses. Don't worry, Bekah, I took some pictures of the food for you! And I received some verbal abuse on your behalf because of it. But I'm strong. Anyway, the wine was flowing and we had fingers foods (antipasto), risotto with zucchini, macoroni with chicken, beef with rosemary and potatoes and grilled vegetables, and a wonderful chocolate fudgey cake with blueberry sauce. Of course, those are my completely Americanized titles for the food. It all sounds and looks much better when called by the Italian names! It was all fabulous, but my favorite was the risotto which had the taste of a wonderful cream of brocolli soup. Naturally, the dessert (CHOCOLATE!) also topped my list. Yum!!

I need to finish packing this morning and then head to class. I will be off to Verona this afternoon. It's hard to believe that I will return to finals week. Where did the time go? Next week will be a tough one (group training presentation on Wed that we haven't started and two final exams on Thursday) but my reward will be Siena and Rome! I think I'll manage! 😊

It continues to be unseasonably cold here in Italy. I think the weather is a fabulous excuse for a little shopping this weekend. Wouldn't you agree? Happy weekend to you all!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0194s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb