Passo dello Stelvio ---2758m


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Dolomites
June 28th 2007
Published: June 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday was 9 hrs. of winding roads until I arrived at wonderful mountainside hotel BUT I did manage to drive past it the first time--over a snowy, rainy pass and into another town where I was directed to closed down Disco Bar bearing the same name as my hotel-----oh-ooh-oooh! Took some deep breaths and was redirected the 30 km back over the pass to my hotel and a gourmet meal.Sometmes you have to wait a little longer for good things.
The sun was shinning this morning and the young man at the desk suggested it would be a good day to ride the Stelvio-----sure just as simple as that. I had planned to fret about it for a few days and then go but this was like a message from above----Passo dello Stelvio was calling! It was truely a magnificent ride----demanding for the grade (average 7% but up to 14%) and the distance (20 km.)By time I reached the top I wished I had some of my winter riding gear----the temp. approx 10 C and a strong wind. After all these rides I realize that I have never conquered a mountain only that the moutain has afforded me the opportunity to face my own fears and insecurities----and deal with them. Just like RA ---deal with it. Ciao fo now.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb