2 Passes - Switzerland - 10+ kms. of Tunnel


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Dolomites
July 1st 2007
Published: July 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday's ride followed the usual form - extreme apprehension - rhythm - confusion - elation. As I was leaving Livigno, the usual doubts overtook me, particularly the question of leg endurance. Could I go this untried distance. My heart rate was already about 30 bpm above what I would normally expect as I warmed up. Part way up the Forcola Pass (2315 m) the scenery took over, I forgot my nerves and my heart rate settled down. A short while later I was riding into Switzerland. Yes that was logical - it was on the map but the emotional feeling of riding over a mountain pass and into another country was quite thrilling. On the next pass Bernina (2330 m) a fellow cyclist from the Czech Republic took my picture. Thus far I've had my picture taken by people from; Holland, Germany, Switzerland, Italy, England, USA, and Canada - you do get to meet many nationalities, if only briefly. My next stop was St. Moritz where I had a great lunch and was told that I had to backtrack 3 kms. to my missed turn-off but I was given a Swiss chocolate bar to boost my energy ( small kindnesses worth the price of a 100 chocolate bars). Then what I had been longing for - a 30 km stretch almost FLAT valley road - did I fly! Two thirds of the way up the next pass I turned off for the final stretch - most of which was through tunnels. The first tunnel ( approx. 2 km) consisted of one lane through a completely enclosed chamber. Obviously, only one side travelled at a time. When our turn came I followed the few cars and a swarm of motorcycles. I hammered it! My concern was that they would start the other side before I got through! They didn't and I rode the fastest 2 km. ever! Next came 10 kms. of tunnels but these had 2 lanes and one side that consisted of spaced pillars so there was natural light. By the time I was through these last tunnels I was only 5 kms from Livigno --ride completed----104 kms.-----elation!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb