Rest and Reflection


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Dolomites
June 27th 2007
Published: June 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today, my rest day, I drove to the base of Mt. Cristallo where I caught the first of two lifts to the top at an elevation of 3000 m. People with safety harnesses hooked onto cables were, under the direction of a guide, climbing further up the mountain. The rock, all very steep and jagged, only served to remind me that I have a limited tolerance for these kind of heights. The fact that it was very cold, with plenty of snow still about didn't help my sense of unease------a far cry from the 30 C of Venice. During the quiet descent I was reminded of the debt of gratitude that I owe to certain people that have played a major role in allowing me to be " able" to take this journey. Three of the medical figures who intiated my treatment with Humira are,( I'll only use their first names) Christopher, Leeanna and Sheila----many thanks. A very special lady in Montreal who guided me through all the logistics of insurance, delivery and just good human support, Joycelyne-----merci beaucoup. At times I feel rather self conscious talking about all the "big" rides I've taken but the real issue is that this is the kind of activity would have been part of my "normal" life and with active RA none of this was possible.I couldn't have even got on a bike and just walking was a painful task. It has only been since my treatment with Humira that I can plan and resume my normal life. The message-----anyone with RA needs competent diagnosis and appropriate treatment so that they too can have a "normal' life. Ciao for now.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0696s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb