Perugia!!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Umbria » Perugia
January 7th 2008
Published: January 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

SO! My first entry! I have been here since friday, and I know that could write pages and pages but i am going to stick with today. The reason I haven't been able to start my journal till now is because I have no internet in my apartment! Something that immediately reminds me that i am no longer in the U.S., instead I am writing this in the internet cafe close to my apartment. Let me just briefly explain my apartment. IT IS HUGGGGE! It has about 7 rooms with high ceilings, and an upstairs where the laundry room is. It is very Italian looking with jesus and Mary figurines everywhere, along with tiny beds and light blue wall paper and sofas, what an amazing apartment. The worst thing though is that the Italian government regulates energy usage, so Apartments are only allowed to use 7 ours of heat a day, 5 or so ours of which my roommates and I are not there for! So At night imagine a texan trying to go to bed in 0 degree or lower temperatures. I have been going to sleep with gloves, hats, 5 blankets and two layers of cloths, it is quite a sight to see, and maybe will take a picture of it one day.

Well we had our first Italian classes today over 4 hours of Italian, but it went by really fast. My professor Franceso is really nice and i love the fact that he (99%) of the time refuses to speak in English, so i figure there is some hope for me! It was funny though that the first comment he made to me was: "You have a peculiar name, is your family Italian?" I love the fact that in both Italy and the U.S. my name is uncommon, but the good thing is that he never forgot my name! After class Me and a few roommates went to the Meat Market and got some breaded chicken and some salami for dinner! Our gas finally started working so Gabrielle and I were determined to make our first meal together! We had Breaded chicken with sauce and mozzarella with pasta with parmesan cheese and sauce, with some escarole salad YUMMMMMM! We even took pictures! And now after cooking and cleaning I am here writing this! How exciting!

One quick note though. The other day My roommates and I were at the pizzeria directly across from us, about 5 steps away, HOW CONVENIENT! And in that time the owner came over an talked to s, as expected, but what was interesting is i was the center of the jokes!! That has never happened to me before! In the end we all introduced ourselves, and of course i cringed inside when i said mine! He laughed, and decided to call me small, which i am not happy about, but i am hoping to win him over and he will call me by my real name!!

A presto!




Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb