Camminare


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Umbria » Perugia
January 4th 2007
Published: January 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday after I got over my mopey self, went to the visitor information centre and got the low down on the chocolate factory. I made the call trying to speak italian but she couldn't get me so she politely told me in English that the factory was closed today and to call tomorrow-aaaaahhhhh! Unfortunatley I am leaving today so no chocolate tour for me although I think it will save me money as so many of you want me to send you some chocolate.

I think that I am starting to turn a little Italian as I spent much of yesterday people watching and walking around and around. I found the books that I need for uni so that is good and I walked through ancient archways. I had my first real meal in a little cafe. Ravioli and tomato sauce. They don't usually serve food at 5.30 in the afternoon but they did for me- perhaps because I looked so tired. I had been up since 3am. This morning I woke up at 1am but was able to sleep again from 2.30 onwards until 6am. I am starting to look a little tired around the eyes but I am sure that I will adjust soon enough.

Sue, you will be very proud. I went to the art gallery (mainly because it was warm lol). I don't know how many paintings there are in the world of the Madonna and child but I believe that there was at least half of them at the Perugia gallery. It was the only thing in the whole place. Some of them were interesting though. Sometimes the people around Mary and Jesus had weird red flame like looking things coming out of their heads. There was also one painting where they looked like they were going to kill the people around them. The angels from the Renaissance period were very strange, they had 6 wings all around them. I have written my other observations in my diary with the intent of getting a full explanantion when I get home.

This morning I was glad to be leaving Perugia because I don't think that I could stand another day of the nonna watching me eat my breakfast. She was quite nice but whenever I was there she sort of followed me around telling me to be quiet- even though I didn't make any noise at all.Anyway now I am in Roma! It was cool on the train because I met an Australian couple and was able to talk to them the whole time. It was good to have a chat with someone.

The fawlty towers in Rome really are Faulty. I am not sure why I got a separate room as when I turn the light on the fan in the shower goes on and it hasn't been cleaned for at least three centuries so it is really loud! I do have a TV in my room so I can watch crazy Italian TV when I can't sleep.

Tomorrow I ma going on a walking tour of the Vatican. Doesn't really sound like me does it but I met an Australian woman on the plane- to cut a long story short she is doing the tour so I will be able to meet up with her then.

After my internet session I am going to attempt to cook some dinner have a shower and watch some TV. I hope you are all well.

Signing off
Dan

P.S I am going to try and upload some photos soon.

Advertisement



4th January 2007

Fawlty Towers
I dunno Dan, I have this image of Manuel running around and Basil giving him hell lol. I am thinking this would be comical...but where's Polly to clean your room when you need her? Oh that's right, taking the dead body out of number 3 before Mrs Fawlty gets home from her hair appointment lol. I can't wait to see some photos...it sounds so pretty there, even if it is cold! Myk gets home tomorrow so she'll be so excited to hear about Aunty Dan over seas!! Be sure to have yourself a long conversation with the Pope at the Vatican haha. Oh and make sure you see the Cistein (I can't spell it)...it probably is in a totally different country - poor uncultured me haha. Glad to hear you're safe from the Nonna...glad my Nonna wasn't like that!! Love ya...stay safe!!
5th January 2007

ah Roma!
Hey Dan, I have such itchy feet reading your blogs. Oh to be overseas again! I loved Rome, and I think you will enjoy the Vatican even if it's not your thing. The place is just so overwhelmingly opulent and history oozes from every inch of it. Next door at St Peters is pretty cool too, although the queues for both can be off putting! Worth it though. I recommend an audio guide to get the most out of them. I am proud of you for practicing your italian and spanish! I never felt very confident speaking the foreign/local language. Don't be discouraged and keep it up!! You must miss home and Ben, but soak up your surroundings. You will miss them when you are back here :-)

Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0913s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb