Filippo has a death wish.


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » San Gimignano
June 13th 2010
Published: June 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

San Gimignano



After leaving Marina di Carrara, we spent several hours in the car to San Gimignano, but stopped in another little town called Lucca, where we trudged through the rain to get some good shopping deals! Dad bought some cigars, and mainly we just picked up some neat accessories, like funky rings and hair things, etc. In the next segment in the car, the roads started to wind… and wind some more… and Fillippo apparently has a death wish, or he just really enjoys the smell of vomit while driving, because he took those twisty turns on those narrow little roads awfully recklessly!! It is the Italian way... Well, I am sometimes prone get motion sickness, and it's never all that bad, I certainly have never actually been sick because of it. It's usually just a headache, I'll get a little dizzy, I mean, not the end of the world. But, oh goodness, I literally had my head between my knees, one hand with a death grip on the door handle, the other squeezing my head… for over an hour. I didn't look up as everyone OO-ed and AH-ed at the, apparently, beautiful scenery surrounding us, and even wouldn't move when Filippo told us we were about to pass the theatre that Andrea Bocceli oftentimes plays in... and that's a big deal. In hindsight, I wish I had been able to just suck it up for give seconds to look out the window to see it, because he's pretty much the most amazing thing ever.

I did end up being able to hold it together until we made it to the hotel, which was well worth the stomach pain and headache to get there! This is the most beautiful place I've ever been. There isn't enough film in the world to capture the every inch of beauty in this town.

We had dinner a restaurant down the street from out hotel, and did just a little bit of late night exploring around San Gimignano. We are still debating whether or not to visit the torture museum, that focuses mainly on the methods used during the Spanish Inquisition. I think if I don't go, I'll regret it and always be curious about it, but if I do go, I will in all likelihood regret it also, as I usually have to fast forward through scenes of the The Tudors…. Thoughts?? 8-/ …….

…first sunburn of the season. 😞


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb