Pisa.


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Pisa
June 21st 2008
Published: July 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Pisa

We got off the bus outside the tower wall and began a back pack shuffle to the campsite, (cats choice of camp site was largly better than mine) passing some american girls who's dorm we had been in in Florence, in true american form they were so self obsorbed they had no idea about this and looked mildly confused when we greated them like we knew them, which we did, sort of.

We checked into our mobile home and popped down to the shop to buy food since we realised that venice had made a significant dent in our budgets, a lovely meal of pasta with tommies and cheese and a bottle of wine was made by Cat, I almost blew us up turning the wrong gas on, there was still a faint smell when we left...

We spent the evening discussing american 'british' politics and drinking beer with an american called Mike and a Polish guy (who was 31! but looked about 22!) Before getting told twice by security that we were making too much noise and must move to one table to prevent loud voices, it didn't really make a difference since I only have two volumes, loud and louder, eventually he made us all go to bed.

Next morning, whilst Cat went off to climb a tall wobbly tower that does not need to be that tall, I cleared up and checked us out. Then we both walked back to the tower so that I could see it, not nearly as impressive as i thought that it would be, leans less the closer you get, never the less, it was impressive and it does lean, though sorry tor you cannot lay underneath it and take a picture they are protective of the surrounding grass areas...

Whilst Bekz was sleeping I headed out for the tower. I bought a ticket but as I had half an hour to spare before they would let me up I went for a walk around the cathedral. As I was admiring the facade the doors opened and I was allowed to go inside to have a look from the back before Mass started. After admiring the inside of the cathedral for a while I went back and had a look at the outside of the Duomo before climbing up the tower. The tower itself isn't very tall but I got a bit of vertigo at the top because the steps are pretty tall and not very wide. I sat at the top for a while in the sun and then walked back down. The tilt is a lot more noticable once you get to the bottom and you feel like you're falling into the wall. Once at the bottom I went for a walk around the city although apart from the tower theres not actually that much else to see.

Then it was off to Rome...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb