Local Market, then a picnic!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Pienza
June 7th 2012
Published: June 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Pienza… wonderful!

Thursday 7 June 2012

My best day so far!

Today for my lesson, my teacher took me down to the local market. Held weekly, just outside the town’s main gate can be found a wonderful array of fresh local fish, meat and vegetables. Check some of the photos and I’m sure you’ll see why I was so excited. Some of the food here, for cost reasons alone we would only have on special occasions in Australia.

This afternoon was a whirlwind tour of some of the surrounding Toscano areas of Montepulchiano. I hired a private guide and she worked out an itinerary full of colourful shops, food and magnificent scenery. So much history in the Pienza region… home to Pope Paulo and some well-known noble families.

Pienza is these days famous for its Pecorini cheese (made from the milk of the sheep), and to make sure I didn’t bypass a tasting, Katia my guide organised a wonderful picnic lunch under the trees with the most tremendous views of Montepulciano with San Biagio church in the foreground.

There were 8 (otto!) different types of Pecorini in the basket . It’s customary to eat jam with cheese here, and once I tried it I could taste why. Also we ate bread and the most wonderful yoghurt I think I’ve ever had. But that’s not all, Katia’s father gave her a bottle of his wine for us to share and her mother made a very scrumptious tirimasu.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

OlivesOlives
Olives

These olives are from south of Rome
Pecorini CheesePecorini Cheese
Pecorini Cheese

Yum, especially cooked with pears.
My teacher, ElanoraMy teacher, Elanora
My teacher, Elanora

Fresh Fish... and more.
A new baby girl!A new baby girl!
A new baby girl!

A pink bow. This is the custom in Italy when a child is born.
Bella Vista!Bella Vista!
Bella Vista!

Don't think I could ever tire of these views.
Grapes!Grapes!
Grapes!

Looking over the grape vines towards Montepulciano.
San BiagioSan Biagio
San Biagio

Gorgious!
MontepulcianoMontepulciano
Montepulciano

Looks different from every angle.
KatiaKatia
Katia

Lunch is ready!
Picnic in the valleyPicnic in the valley
Picnic in the valley

A lovely spot looking back torwards Montepulciano!


Tot: 0.193s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0624s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb