Pienza and The Orcia Valley


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Pienza
June 7th 2012
Published: June 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Picnic day continued...

From the Pecorini cheese farm we went to Pienza (Storico), another walled-village, Renaissance-style, apparently planned in the 1400’s by the Pope himself... Pope Pius II. (I think I called him Paulo in my last entry - perhaps that was his nickname.) Anyway there is a magnificent palace where he once lived and of course a very grand cathedral to match… both these are located in the main piazza right next to the town hall.

The buildings these days mostly house museums, café’s and shops. This little town has such a quaint ambience and what’s great about it is that it’s not too touristy. Oh and did I mention the views? To die for… and so under-rated. I guess the views all around Toscana are so picturesque that one could become blasé. To me I think they would be best enjoyed from the shade of a tree on a sunny day, sipping wine with a lover! Oh why do we fill our lives with busyness and complications?

After Pienza, Katia took me to a well-known natural spa town, then on to her family vineyard and olive grove. We played with her sheepdog a while then drove some more through the Orcia Valley region before we stopped off at her hometown for me to buy yet another pair of new specs! She showed my some of the life of the locals – away from the tourist areas, and for this I am grateful. Her town is called Sateano. It’s also a walled town, but more residential and suburban. I liked it!

It was a huge day and it was 8pm before I arrived back at my apartment. I was exhausted, but satisfied. Who wouldn't be! One more thing though… homework!


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

CIMG1816CIMG1816
CIMG1816

I bought a miniature one of these for Georgia!
CIMG1820CIMG1820
CIMG1820

The Pope's palace
CIMG1830CIMG1830
CIMG1830

WWII damage to the side of the cathedral.
CIMG1854CIMG1854
CIMG1854

Living on the edge!
CIMG1876CIMG1876
CIMG1876

Door sign... this is how they advertise their rooms to rent.
CIMG1890CIMG1890
CIMG1890

Another Ape (motorbike made into a little truck)
CIMG1904CIMG1904
CIMG1904

I love this photo!
CIMG1907CIMG1907
CIMG1907

This is the most photographed Tuscan landscape. Not sure that Katia and I did it justice though!
CIMG1911CIMG1911
CIMG1911

Katia's small family vinyard, with olive trees in the foreground.
This one is for Tommy as I know how much he likes blondes!This one is for Tommy as I know how much he likes blondes!
This one is for Tommy as I know how much he likes blondes!

Katia and her sheep dog. They don't have any sheep, but she and another dog look after the vinyard and the chooks!
CIMG1923CIMG1923
CIMG1923

And this big brute is for Emma!


11th June 2012

catching up on your trip
HI Cathy I have just read all your blog, looks like you are having some wonderful experiences and making great memories. The photos are beautiful, I hope you find the family tree info you are looking for on your grandfather. Enjoy the rest of your stay. lots of love Susie
11th June 2012

Hiya Susie
Thanks Susie, must have taken a while to read it all at once. Not quite finished yet though. Still another two weeks to go. I'm looking forward to relaxing on the cruise. I bet you had a ball in NT. I'm just leaving Orvieto, the lovliest walled-town so far in my opinion. Catching a train to Rome so must go now. Not every day any of us could say that! Love you heaps, chat soon, Cath xxx

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb