Day 7 Tuscany - Florence - Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
June 16th 2023
Published: June 16th 2023
Edit Blog Post

This mornings start was no different this morning to any other. Another early start! today we are continuing the journey through the beautiful Tuscan region. Today’s first stop is going to be Florence.
Florence is considered to be the capital of Tuscany, and widely recognised as the birth place of the Renaissance, as well as being well known for its art and history.

The first part of the drive should take about an hour. It is roughly a 40 mile drive south. I’m sure the scenery was beautiful the whole way, but sadly I was asleep, so missed it! It’s the price I have to pay for late night/early mornings!

After getting off the coach at the drop off/pickup point, we have a 20 minute walk, along the River Aron, to watch a leather demonstration at Leonard’s. I decided to boycott the demonstration, opting for a long quiet walk. Not sure why, but I seem to be feeling emotional today. I don’t know, just can’t get my Mum out of my head. I’m sure she would have loved Italy!

Piazza del Duomo is the large city square that contains the , the third largest cathedral in the world after St. Peter's in Rome and St. Paul's in London. It is the massive octagonal cupola that truly dominates both the church and the city. There was a dent of some sort going on, COBAS, I had no idea what it was about, but they were chanting and cheering!

I sat for a while, in the sun with a coffee, just considering life in general, my next steps, my family, future travel options, and probably the meaning of life in general.

Sometimes, I waffle through life, not paying a lot of attention, no worries and no stress, then sometimes I get deep into my head. Neither are good, I need to find balance! All that over a coffee in Florence!

Ponte Vecchio is a picturesque medieval arched bridge that flows over the River Arno. It is lined with jewellery, and souvenir shops. So much gold in one place, and really pricey. Although it is 18carat! I took the perfect opportunity to sit in the shade of the arches to allow full pleasure of eating my coffee flavoured gelato. I sat on the cold steps and thoroughly enjoyed it, as it didn’t melt in the heat of the sun!

Michelangelo’s famed Renaissance-era marble sculpture depicting the nude biblical character David. Just note, this is a replica, but still worth going to see. Magnificent!

I took a final walk along the river to Habana 500 which is our meeting place to get back on the bus.
On my way back, I did pass the most amazing little Citroen electric car. It is so small, it was actually parked rear wheels to the kerb! I have about an hour to sit down, relax and have a drink in the shade before the next leg of the journey.

Following Florence is Italy’s capital city - Rome! It’s about 175 miles to Rome, I’m ready for snooze. 

After about an hour of snoozing, we are gently awoken as we are pulling into the service stop for a comfort/coffee break.

It was a quick stop this time; we all seem to mastering the art of using a service station in Italy! It’s quite nice to then relax on the coach…. With a coffee! I know I’ve avoided mentioning it, but I’m still gutted about my Nespresso cup!

We arrive at the hotel after 6pm. Time to get refreshed and ready for dinner… which is a first! I got up to make room, I’m on my own again tonight! My first job was to completely unpack and reorganise all my stuff. It started out very orderly, but with each day, it’s all got mixed up! It only took me about 20 minutes. It funny how I feel better when that job is done! I have enough time to get a shower. It’s been such a hot day, I wouldn’t have wanted to wait until later! I felt so much better for it! Off for dinner.

We are eating as a whole group tonight, in the hotel. I bumped into Eddy, Maria’s husband, in the reception, so we went and found the pool and bar. I actually tasted my first ever mojito!!! It was nice, but ones definitely enough for me with the timescales we are working to. If I drank more, I’d be worried that I didn’t get up on the morning!’

I finished the night round the fish pond… there are turtles in there!


Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 25


Advertisement







Tot: 0.361s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0911s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb