Day 8 Rome and The Vatican City


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
June 17th 2023
Published: June 17th 2023
Edit Blog Post

We’ve had a little sleep in today, breakfast at 8am, leave at 9am. We have just a short ride into the Vatican City. Today we are doing a guided tour with Jamie, our own guide.

There are water fountains all over the centre where you have access to a constant free top up! Always- stay hydrated!

In retrospect, it’s been difficult to blog on the move today! So much to see! And it’s so hard to describe so many amazing monuments, and markers of history. So here’s a list!
We walked for just under 5k to see the following:
Colosseum

The Roman Forum, the original governmental area - Forum of Caesar
Largo di tortoise Argentina
Victor Emmanuel II Monument,
Piazza Navona,
Pantheon
We had a group coffee stop at The Pantheon area. Then continued to a Trattoria for lunch.

The walk so far has exceeded all expectations. Neither my literary, or photographic abilities can possibly do it justice! You just need to visit for yourselves!

We continued with our day after lunch, then on to:
Trevi Fountain - breathtaking
Spanish Steps. I did have a plan for the Spanish steps, I definitely wasn’t walking up them….
But I did! How can you not!

We had two stops on our walk round. One for a coffee, then a second stop for an amazing Italian gelato.


Then on to a bucket list item!
We got on the Metro for 3 stops. There were two attempts at bag snatching on our group. But thanks to Jamie we are all well versed. He had been constantly guiding us against scammers, pickpockets and thrives. Great job done Jamie!

We arrived close to The Vatican City - the smallest country in the world! for a truly unforgettable experience. This is one of my bucket list items. The main reasons for booking this tour was to go to Paris, Rome and the Vatican City. the Vatican City to explore the smallest country in the world. and much more.

After our group tour finished I stayed behind with a few others. We got a taxi back to the Pantheon. I was mainly with Eddy & Maria. We shopped for a while, stopped for dinner…. And a drink or two. They have been good company, we’ve all had a really good day!

We then joined up with Sandie, Jarpld, Pri, Monica and Su. We got taxis back to the hotel

I went straight to my room….. I knackered!
, but very happy! We have walked 23000 steps which equates to 14km, about 8.7 miles!!! And…. It’s been a scorcher of a day.

I realise this is a rubbish blog day, but for me, it was worth missing out the blogging, to see all that I did!!
I can only reiterate…. I was speechless, at the different things we saw and experienced today… indescribable


Additional photos below
Photos: 84, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0628s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb