Day 4: Giardini Naxos, Sicily


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Sicily » Giardini Naxos
May 28th 2012
Published: May 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

to Sicily


Malta FerryMalta FerryMalta Ferry

Great ship ride from Malta to Sicily.
5 am: awoke to catch the 6:45 am ferry to Sicily. My internet contact Kyle said I was to be at the port promptly at 5:45, so I WAS! I got a primo seat at the front of the observation deck, with a round table and 2 club chairs, 5 feet from the glass windows. What a beautiful boat, only 15 months old, felt like a cruise ship… 2 decks, one a club section with a center staircase worthy of a bride, the other full of regular passengers like me, 2 deli bars, and a deck for cars. I got a ham and cheese baguette, grilled, and a diet coke for breakfast. 70 euro for the trip from Malta to Catania.



We arrived on time, at 8:30 am. I continued the trip on the (ferry) bus to Catania, a large port on the east side of Sicily. I arrived there around 10:30 am, and dragged my suitcase (it needs to lose some weight) 8 blocks to the train station. I bought a ticket for 6 euros for Giardini Naxos, my next stop. With the help of a nice Italian woman, I got off at the correct stop and
Catania Train StationCatania Train StationCatania Train Station

Train to Giardini Naxos...$6 Euros
hailed a taxi (15 euro, ugh) to my room. I’m staying at a rooming “villa” , Villa S’Antonio, with approximately 12 rooms. It is very simple, clean, shower in the room, no ac or wifi, a safe I can’t work, and breakfast. I see that 23 places are set for breakfast, so must be somewhat full. I am on the “second” floor but there were 5 sets of 10 stairs to get there. I bet the nice young man who carried my bag wished I’d been on the 1st floor!



The villa is 4 blocks from the beach, so I headed that way and explored the southern half of Naxos. The town is 3 blocks deep. There is a long wide sand beach that spans the town area, with restaurants, public and “private” beaches (rent a chair for 5E, an umbrella for 3E or a cabana for 10Euro). There is an array of fishing boats, new and old, in all states of repair, beached upon the sand. This is obviously a working fishing village as well as a tourist destination.



Above the town on the mountain side, is the town of Taormina, a 20
Beer at Naxos Beer at Naxos Beer at Naxos

Beer at local snack bar on the beach at Giardini Naxos
minute/2 euro bus ride. It is the most expensive resort in Sicily. Tomorrow I will visit and explore. There is an castle a 20 minute walk above the town that looks interesting. There is also an English speaking information center, so maybe I can get help with my ticket for the overnight train to Gallipoli… I need to reserve a seat.



I have learned that the most important thing to do when arriving in a new town is find a nearby place for dinner. There are several to choose from, where I can’t get lost in the dark, and I have one picked out.



I ate at Angelina’s, at the recommendation of several workmen along the "strip". I had grilled swordfish, insalada mista, white Italian wine, and complementary burschetta. YUM. I went straight home to bed!



I have met some interesting people as I have moved along. When you travel alone, you are very approachable, and people temporarily befriend you. I will try to describe some of them.



Today, I met the British lady from Malta. She was by my standards “old” but certainly a role model, and a person I want to be at 85!!! I had stopped at the ferry information center for directions to the train. The woman there said “follow her.” So I did! She also was dragging a large suitcase and had a bag over her shoulder, moving at a nice clip that I struggled to keep up with. She was around 4’10”, thin, wirey. She was from Britain originally, but most recently from Malta, and spoke fluent Italian and Maltese, and probably more. She teased the different people we constantly asked directions from… such as the cab driver at the half way point…”Don’t you want a ride?” “No, where were you when we wanted you?” She was off to visit friends in southern Italy for 2 weeks, and was thrilled that she didn’t have to bring her bike because they had one for her. I bought her a token for the toilet for thanks. What a role model! We didn’t even exchange names but spent an hour together.



Another interesting person was the man from Sicily who pushed me forward in the line at the Rome airport, allowing me to catch my flight in the nick of time. He
Boat Grave YardBoat Grave YardBoat Grave Yard

Lots of fishing boats in various states of repair along the beach of Giardini Naxos
taught me how to pronounce Giardini Naxos respectively. I asked him what to do in Sicily, and he replied: EAT! So I will!!!



A third interesting person was another “old” man (85-95?) that I met waiting for the bus in Victoria, Gozo. I sat down on a bench with him. He recently lost his wife of 68 years, and was lonely. Everyday, he rides the bus into Victoria, hangs out for a few hours, talks to people, and returns home, so sad. His 5 children live in Australia, but he was born here and wants to die here. He talked about WW2, the recent history of Malta, his farming background, selling his house and renting a place… he told me that “Malta is a wonderful place to live if you have money, but very difficult if you do not.”



More Photos below!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Me on the ferryMe on the ferry
Me on the ferry

(I was there)
Ferry InteriorFerry Interior
Ferry Interior

Beautiful new ship, felt like a cruise ship.
Life Guard StandLife Guard Stand
Life Guard Stand

Colorful life guard stand on the beach at Naxos.
Colorful Beach RestaurantColorful Beach Restaurant
Colorful Beach Restaurant

Such great colors in Sicily!


29th May 2012

Sicily
Love reading the blog....Sicily is on my list to visit! Wishing I was traveling with you!!

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb