Day 5: Taormino and Giardino Naxos, Sicily


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Sicily » Taormina
May 29th 2012
Published: May 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
View of Giardini NaxosView of Giardini NaxosView of Giardini Naxos

Taken from the Greek Theatre in Taormina
I awoke at 7:00 am, had a nice shower with plenty of hot water and water pressure. No AC here but it cools off around 5:00 pm. I was the first at 7:30 for breakfast, had the dining room to my self with Scubby Do on the TV. There was quite a spread… first I got American Coffee (with a large pitcher of hot steamed milk). Then a huge plate of food arrived: ham, salami, cheese, lettuce and tomato salad, and 2 spinach souffle cakes. On the side buffet was every kind of pastry imaginable, a bowl of chopped fruit, another of whole fruit, yogurt, granola, and juices! I made a sandwich with the leftovers from my plate, but did not end up eating it.



I took the 8;45 bus to Taormina, about a 30 minute ride due to traffic. I saw Mt. Etna while I waited, clear and beautiful. By the time I got to Taormina, it had disappeared into the clouds. It reminded me of the time Gary and I were in Alaska. We signed up for the “Mountain Watch,” meaning the hotel would call your room if the mountain made an appearance. The only time
Greek Theatre, TaorminoGreek Theatre, TaorminoGreek Theatre, Taormino

Greek/Roman theatre still in use today
we were called was at 3 am. We dutifully joined the line of camera-lugging zombies in p.j.s, and headed to the overlook to take our picture! So this is “Etna Watch”; take a crummy photo whenever you can!



The first order of the day was figuring out my next bus ticket, overnight for Gallipoli, Italy. I can’t figure out where to catch the bus; there are all types of bus and train stations for different kinds of buses. All the correspondence is in Italian, but I did have a Paypal receipt for payment. I stopped at the English-speaking tourist office near the center of town in Taormina. Thank goodness for guidebooks! The woman pointed me to a travel agency nearby. The very nice man at the Agencia Viaggi & Turismo explained that I did indeed have a ticket, but I need to print it out (which he did). He also told me where to catch the bus (near my hotel!), and then (the price for service) scolded me for not using a travel agency instead of the internet.



Taormina is the most expensive place in Sicily. You can buy anything here that you could
Beggar at the ChurchBeggar at the ChurchBeggar at the Church

Beggar at the church in Taormino
buy on Michigan Avenue in Chicago. Shopping is a major activity and attraction. There are some other things to do, though, and one is visiting the Greek Theatre in the center of town, with a high entrance fee of 8 euros (no Sr. discount either). It was started by the Greeks in 300 BC, and finished by the Romans early in the first century. Most of what is seen today is Roman, arches, columns, etc. The views are breathtaking, and Mt. Etna is the backdrop for the theatre. There are plays and musical events held in the evenings. I would like to attend one but none are scheduled for my time here.



I walked around the town for a while, then opted to take the bus to Castelmola, a small town a 15minute bus ride above Taormina. I waited for the bus and talked to a young Irish couple who were spending 10 days here. They came for a wedding… imagine a destination wedding in Sicily! The told me it had rained 3 days while they were here… and there was not much to do when it rained. I thought it was always sunny!


CastelmolaCastelmolaCastelmola

Hilltop town of Castelmola where I had lunch and then walked an hour down to Taormino

MORE spectacular views from the tiny town of Castelmola… After being let off by the bus, there was still quite a climb to the town, approximately 140 stairs. I was ready for lunch when I arrived. I got penne carbonara from a family owned restaurant. I was greeted by all of them… grandmother, 2 sons who cooked, wives who helped out. They gave me complimentary olives and bruschetta. It was great!



There is a footpath from here down to Taormina, so I decided to take the walk down (NOT up!). It took almost an hour. Half of the path was stone paved steps, very nice. The rest was more rustic. There were more views, and lots of sandy-colored lizards with iridescent green backs. The wildflowers were similar to Kansas, coreopsis, Queen Anne’s Lace, thistle, sunflowers. Around a bend, a surprise: a tiny church with GOATS on the roof! All in all, it was a very enjoyable exercise.



The tourists are overrunning this town. Herds and herds and HERDS of them, following guides; I’ve never seen so many in one place. I dodged through the crowds and finally found an internet café. I had put
lunch of Penne Carbonaralunch of Penne Carbonaralunch of Penne Carbonara

Delicious pasta lunch at family owned restaurant
my day’s blog write-up on a flash drive, so it was fairly easy to update. I bought some stamps and sent a couple of post cards. I found the post office, where they have 2 mail slots, one for the city and one for others. I’m beginning to find my way around here. I like staying and eating in Naxos, but the basic conveniences of life are in Taormina.



Home to do my daily back up of photographs, type up the blog, plan for tomorrow. RECHARGING is a big requirement at every stop. I now have the Europe plug out (Malta had the British.).



I walked for an hour before dinner, along the beach walk. I ended up at the Naxos church, a very strange structure. It looks like a can with a pointed lid. The inside was also strange, like being inside a can with a funny lid.



I had dinner at the Sayonara Restaurant: muscles, ensalada mista, and a ½ liter of local white wine. The muscles were fabulous!!! While there, another single woman and I were the only 2 in the restaurant. As the evening wore on, we
Goats on the GrottoGoats on the GrottoGoats on the Grotto

What a surprise as I rounded the path down the mountain!
began to talk. Her name is Margaret Leigh, opera singer from Scotland, who now resides primarily in northern Italy. She came to Naxos for many years but hasn’t been back in 17. She says it hasn’t changed at all! She was commenting about the earthquake today in northern Italy, the second in a few weeks. Her home is near there; she said the earth split open, very scary. We exchanged cards, since she has never been to the USA, and hopefully she might come to Kansas! We hope to see each other tomorrow night. What fun traveling can be!!!



More Photos Below!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

WildflowersWildflowers
Wildflowers

Wildflowers on the path down from Castelmola.
Herds of TouristsHerds of Tourists
Herds of Tourists

SO many tourists in Taormina... ugh. Reminds me of "If it is Tuesday, it must be Belgium" FROM THE 60s.
Side Street, TaorminaSide Street, Taormina
Side Street, Taormina

Beautiful little town, lots of restaurants and shopping.
Street in TaorminaStreet in Taormina
Street in Taormina

Another street scene
SouveniersSouveniers
Souveniers

Typical Italian
Mt. EtnaMt. Etna
Mt. Etna

A quick snapshot while the weather was clear!
Giardini Naxos ChurchGiardini Naxos Church
Giardini Naxos Church

Strange church!
MusselsMussels
Mussels

YUM, dinner of mussels, salad and bread, and local wine.
Castelmola at nightCastelmola at night
Castelmola at night

From my dinner restaurant; Castelmola is lights on left top of mountain
MargaretMargaret
Margaret

Interesting woman I talked with at dinner


30th May 2012

Get people to take your photo!
Mom - get people to take your photo. You'll never see them again and they are more than willing! We want to see you in MORE photos! LOVE - BJ

Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0625s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb