Dimenticato


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Piedmont » Alba
August 1st 2009
Published: August 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Some of the familySome of the familySome of the family

Me, Tamar, Lori, and Silvana
I forget. Well, I forgot a few things in my last entry, but my Italian is not advanced enough to say so. And I also decided to add more...

Other WWOOFers


They are one of the best parts of the WWOOFing experience. You become instant friends because you can spend so much time together and you get someone to speak proper English with. On this farm I met Hennie from Finland and Tamar from Israel. I learned so much about both cultures and countries, and was able to shed some light on stereotypes of America. I forgot to say that the family loves to hear about our homes, and encourage us to cook things that we are used to eating. Hm...that's difficult since I basically make what Silvana makes. But I made lemonade, and Lori loves it. I also made up this fig and plum tart thing, which turned out fairly well.
There is also a family friend who has WWOOFers so we spent some time with 2 cute Swedish girls. I love making friends around the world.

Italian Romance


I won't go into much detail, but I have to mention it because it just rounds out
Hedgehog!Hedgehog!Hedgehog!

Mattia petting the hedgehog that ran by our blanket.
the perfection of this place. It started about a week into my stay and I saw him every night after. Just picture a romance novel set in Italy and multiply it by 27. Moonlit picnics with a bottle of local wine surrounded by grapevines and a view of the twinkling towns below....teaching each other Italian and English....you get the picture. We even found a wild hedgehog on our last night! But, don't worry, I'm coming home a single girl. We're both rational people, and we are happy to take this as a wonderful fling.

And More


But I'm going back there. Not for my romance, but for everything. The farm, the family, etc. So, I should be returning home on September 8th. I get to have an Italian birthday!

What else did I forget...Oh, they don't just bake bread and cookies. Also foccacia, pizza, and these sort of peach turnovers. Also, because I felt like one of the kids, I became a lazy bum, or as you would say in Italian, a worm, or vermone. This will be evident in my next post. There's more to this farm, but I'll have about 2 more weeks to tell
Women bakingWomen bakingWomen baking

This is our work. I love it.
you about it later.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

SpiloSpilo
Spilo

Such a crazy dog.
Mt. VisaMt. Visa
Mt. Visa

A view from the farm on my last night.


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb