Buona Festa!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Viterbo
December 23rd 2010
Published: December 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Ciao,
I hope you all are enjoying the holidays and not getting too sucked into consumerism☺
I am having mixed feelings right now. My mom has been trying to get to me on standby, I know, worst time of year. She was supposed to get here on the 21st but I am still waiting and she is still trying. She will get here soon I know. But for now I am sitting in my kitchen alone, knitting, eating walnuts and listening to Eva Cassidy and Simon and Garfunkel. Voglio mia mamma per natale, I want my mom for Christmas.
At the same time, I am enjoying my alone time. I have been surrounded by lots of people ever since I moved away to college two and a half years ago. I have grown to love being surrounded by people but it is really nice having some down time and entertain myself. I haven’t had this kind of time for a while now. So, today, I went on a bike ride, out of town and into the country for a bit, then I bikes to Terme (hot springs). Usually the Terme is pretty empty, but today there were lots of people. It was not exactly relaxing but it was very entertaining and fun. It seems that the Terme is a little social gathering for locals. People of all ages were just hanging out and chatting it up. It was an interesting scene, the wind was blowing hard, it looked as though it might rain any minute while it was about 65 degrees, there was a military helicopter landing near by and all of the people kept on talking over the noise. Also, I introduced myself to two Italian girls, one of which I had seen around. They seem cool but I was nervous to talk to them, they look cool.
After the Terme, I biked home/ walk up the hill with all of the Viterbesi staring at me. When I got home, I went on the roof and danced naked. The air is just too yummy to resist. After, I bought four liters of wine; I am going to make warm wine cider. Then I went shopping for groceries, which was a mad house.
Last night I made some bomb lasagna, I can finally cook in my house without being judged. Ace appreciated my cooking and we watched Love Actually together then I went out with some Americans who are still here, that was nice. They also invited me over for Christmas Eve and white elephant gift exchange on Christmas and then a potluck on Christmas night. But I am not exactly close with them, I’m missing Katie and my roomies who have become mia famiglia in Italia.
So please put in good thoughts for my mom getting here safely.
I hope all of you have a buon Natale e felice anno nuovo!
Ciao ciao
Baci baci


Advertisement



Tot: 0.222s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.151s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb