La mia mamma e io In Italia!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Viterbo
January 13th 2011
Published: January 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Wow a New year already.
A new year to celebrate, a new year for adventure, a new year for love, nature, peace and friends.
My mom and my wishes of being in Italia together finally came true. First we said we would make the trip when I turned 16, that never happened so then we said when I turned the big 18, it never happened then either so we got tattoos instead. Then I was 20 and living in Italia and she decided she had to make it happen, what better time to celebrate in Italia than for my 21st and her 50th birthday.
She was on standby so she was supposed to get in on the 21st but it didn't work out that way. She went to the airport about 4 times trying to get on. So on the night of the 23rd I was getting ready to watch a movie and go to bed, when I got a text from mom saying, “I got on a flight, see you tomorrow at 7:45am”. I was so excited, I ran in and told Ace, then I ran back down the hall, turned around and ran back, peeped my head in the kitchen and said “does that me I have to go to Rome and pick her up?”, he said, “well she did give birth to you”, also, she did go to the airport about 4 times in the past 4 days, so I figured I could suck it up and take a two hour train to Rome.
I have so much to say about the trip, but it is too much for here, so i will keep it short.
We stayed in Viterbo for Christmas, it was mellow and sweet.
On the 30th we went to Firenze for three nights and stayed in such a cute place, all to ourselves. We seem to always wait until the moment when we are spinning from hunger to frantically find a place to eat. We ended up at this cute little restaurant. The two male waiters were friendly. I insisted on speaking to our waiter in Italian but he kept responding in English, he was probably trying to be nice and include my mom in the ordering process but I couldn’t’ help but glare at him every time he uttered a word of English. So, he gave us the other waiter. Firenze was a lot of fun, on New Years there was music playing in every Piazza, classical in one House in one, 50's, 60's in another. We watched the fireworks from Ponta Vecchio over the water. After, we road the marry go round.
We headed off to Siena on the 2nd. We were there for mom's big birthday. We went to the Terme there, it was a 40 minute bus ride. There were two pools outside and two inside, it was amazing. We ended up getting a ride back with a man that worked there. his name is Vito and he happens to be Macrobiotic, which is not common in Italia. That night we went out to a cute restaurant and ordered wonderful food. I asked for a candle in the dessert for her birthday and the whole restaurant helped me sing happy birthday in Italiano, she was so surprised.
We came back to Viterbo for a night and had dinner and fun with my roommates, i am so glad she got to meet them. Then we went to Rome for one night, which turned into two, the beauty of standby. the hostel was so cute and wonderful. We walked around, i showed her all the vintage stores on my favorite street. She got a cute dress at one store and we met these really cool ladies. We also found this great gelato place, i got a small cup with three flavors, one flavor was rose, lavender walnut i think. When mom gets sugar she really goes all out. She got a cup for 5 euros so you can imagine the size. while she was eating that she saw a little girl with a cone and said "Why did'nt I get a cone", so she went back and got a cone with two more flavors.
all in all our trip was great. We finally did it! yes!
ciao tutti!


Additional photos below
Photos: 77, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.029s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb