Orvieto to Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
June 11th 2012
Published: June 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The Rose RoomThe Rose RoomThe Rose Room

My home for 3 nights whilst in Rome.
Orvieto to Rome



Monday 11 June, 2012



I’m feeling a lot better today. Whatever was making me feel ill has gone and my energy levels have improved.



I took the train from Orvieto direct to Rome around lunchtime and the trip only took about an hour. The countryside im Umbria is similar to Tuscany, with lots of hills, though I didn't see many hilltop villages. Further on towards Rome in the Lazio region the hills start to flatten out towards Rome and I didn't think the countryside was anywhere near as pretty as it is in the Tuscany area.



I arrived at my B&B around 2.30, giving me time to rest a while before headed out with dirty washing disguised in a bag, in search of a laundry. I found one just three streets away (thank heavens for internet search engines!) I put the was on and walked out into the street to a little Indian sidewalk restaurant to enjoy beer and a nice curry. Two hours later I was back home, tummy satisfied and clothes clean (albeit not ironed!)



I like this little B&B in Trastevere (B&B Orti di Trastevere, €65 per night including WIFI A/C, TV). It’s conveniently located on bus/tram routes, yet out of the hustle and bustle in a leafy suburb by the Tiber River. Rome proper is only minutes away as is the Vatican.



I've uploaded some typical Rome photographs, most of which need no explanations. My apologies for the quality and angles of some, but they were taken out of the bus window.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

My room is on the 4th FloorMy room is on the 4th Floor
My room is on the 4th Floor

Old fashioned wooden lift with cage around it.
View from WindowView from Window
View from Window

Leafy Trastevere
View from windowView from window
View from window

Close to the Tiber River
View from windowView from window
View from window

Rome in the distance


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0223s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb