Orvieto


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Umbria » Orvieto
June 9th 2012
Published: June 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Saturday 9 June cont'd



On to Orvieto… we arrived around 7pm to the only walled city I know that you can actually drive your car to your hotel. Bang… we were stopped just 100 meters from my hotel by a pageant. Not to worry the sight of the Duomo was magnificent and quelled any ill-feelings of having to lug luggage over cobblestones and through the crowd. Oh no, she cried, nobody here… all at the pageant! Fortunately it wasn’t a regular hotel (or perhaps because of), it was a monastery guest house. Waiting alongside me at the front door were 9 young priests robed in black. Most of them spoke English and we passed the time with conversation about each other’s travels. They were good –natured and very refreshing. Most were from USA, studying in Rome and up in Orvieto for the night to help out with the pageant celebrations. They were to assist with the very big mass that was to take place tomorrow, and hoped they would see me there.



After waiting for just an hour, ahem, somebody arrived with the key! Yes, Padre Franco was busy with pageant arrangements … well it is his monastery that is attached to the church of the moment. Please see photos, this church is the best I have ever seen. Very much like the one in Florence, I believe. I haven't been to Florence and won't make it there this trip, but this cathedral will do me. Truely magnificent! I'll tell you more about it after a better look tomorrow.



After check in, at around 8.15, I went straight to bed (yes, without supper). I was absolutely worn out and still not well and this morning’s episode of the missing jewellery has been playing on my mind all day. I must admit though, all the twists and turns and up and down mountains on the trip today didn’t help any either.



When I ought to have been sleeping, my mind was working overtime trying to get a grip on the missing jewellery. I went into overdrive when I did a mental stocktake of what I brought with me on the trip and what I actually packed this morning. Yep, there were 3 other items missing: my pearls, my treasured amethyst in-the-raw pendant and the gold chain that I hang it from. I’m so angry that I can’t sleep and a plan is forming in my mind of how I can get this guy. Anyone got any ideas?



… must sleep, must sleep, must sleep. Take a sleeping tablet Girl, you’re going to make yourself really sick if you keep this up. Get some rest. Must rest, must rest, must r...e……….. zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Tommy fix!Tommy fix!
Tommy fix!

Couldn't resist. Aren't dogs just so forgiving?


13th June 2012

Hi Cathy, I cant sleep thinking about you not sleeping because of this bastard.assuming that he was the thief I.e. The so called massage therapist.he obviously does this for a living and you would not have been his first victim so perhaps he could be lured into doing another massage and nabbed again .the police need to be involved more. How did you get him in the first place. Surely you can give this information to the police for them to follow through.do you have someone with you you could trust to be with you if you lured him back for a second massage. Cut his balls off for me whilst you are at it. This would be risky on your own. But you could threaten to dob him in If he didn't give back your property. That is if you are sure it was him. Could he have done all this stealing while you had your face down? Oh I hope this whole fiasco isn't spoiling your holiday. Write to me if you can.love jane

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb