Getting Sloppy in Roma


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
September 27th 2011
Published: September 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

We left Firenze and never looked back. Off to Rome! We met some new Aussies (of course) on the train ride over named Kat and Andrew. They have been dating for 5 years, graduated Uni a year ago, and decided to take off and explore Europe for 2 months together. They seemed to travel will together, but I don’t ever think Greg and I could do it. We would kill each other.
We got to the hotel, which is right in Piazza Venezia, a huge plaza with crazy Italian drivers in a round a bout. We quickly learned that you have to be aggressive when crossing the street, even if cars are coming at you. We walked down to the Coliseum in the blazing heat and took some pictures of the Roman Forum along the way.
Kat and Andrew met us in the piazza and we walked to Campo di Fiori for dinner. We settled for a nice ristorante, and of course, we ordered pasta, pizza and wine. I elected for the Trofie al pesto because some Italians we met on the train suggested we try it. They got my order wrong twice and I finally got my pesto after everyone was done eating. But it was fine because Europeans sit at the table for hours after dinner anyways.
We also had some dinner entertainment: it is common for street vendors and performers to just walk right into the outdoor dining area to shove their products in the faces of eating customers. A magician started doing his tricks right outside the ristorante; he was the worst magician I have ever seen/I could do better. Everyone was watching, but only because it was so bad. He had to jimmy his props so they would release the right object. Afterwards, he took off his tupee to collect money in. An unbelievable sight.
The owner of the restaurant , Albers from Albania, came over to say hello and offer some shots. Kat immediately says tequila… all the rest of us hate tequila. He then tells us that he owns the bar next door, called Sloppys, were there are Aussie and Californian bar tenders. We got drinks and taught Kat and Andrew how to play beer pong. We also heard the life story of the beautiful Australian, Sean (also known as bait for the restaurant when girls walk by): He left his parents when he
fontina di trevifontina di trevifontina di trevi

make a love wish and toss in a coin
was 16 to go to Europe and has been hopping between restaurant jobs, teaching snowboarding lessons, and other hospitality jobs for about 5 years now. Sounds awesome now, but what happens in 10 years?
We met some American guys that had just arrived in Rome to study architecture at the university for 4 months. One of them was a native Roman, while the other lived in Rome when he was younger. Our plan was to take a cab to the clubbing district, but they somehow persuaded us to follow them for a Roman adventure…. We ended up hopping over the fence into the Roman Forum, the ruins, at 3:30am, with assurance that if they police came we wouldn’t get arrested. They gave us a private tour, history and all, of the ancient roman city. We were all pretty drunk at the time, so Mary and I had to piece it together the next day. We had a minor encounter with the police, but don’t worry Mom, I am still a free American. We got back to the hotel at 5:30am…
I was in rush to add these kids on Facebook so I grabbed my computer and ran down to the second floor where there is internet. I was back at our room within 2 minutes because I had slipped down the stairs, threw my computer and split open my left elbow. There was a trail of blood from the stairs to our room. Mary kept laughing at me because I wouldn’t stop saying how much of an idiot I was. It hurt really bad, but I just tried to cover it with a band-aid and fell asleep.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Kat and AndrewKat and Andrew
Kat and Andrew

he bought her a rose from those annoying vendors that walk around and shove a bouquet in your face


Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0267s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb