The home of the Gladiators


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
September 28th 2011
Published: September 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

I woke up with blood all over my sheets from my elbow; the band-aid obviously wasn’t good enough. I cleaned it and took a look: it was pretty bad and I couldn’t really straighten my arm. I would give it a day and if it didn’t get better, I would see a doctor (I am posting this 3 days after the incident. Good news, my elbow is healing. It still hurts to lean on it and straighten all the way, but the cut looks ok.)
Both of us were pretty hung over this morning, but we had already bought tickets to tour the Coliseum so we had to go. It was so hot. We were pretty much shade hopping the entire afternoon. The Coliseum was cool and they had information panels in English. Here are some facts:
• The Colleseum could seat 30,000 to 70,000 people
• Underneath the arena is a labyrinth of rooms and hallways that stored the beasts and other materials
• Never tour the Coliseum with a hangover.
We ended up finding a nook in the shade within the Coliseum to people watch. Looking back at our entire trip, we did this activity a lot: we would climb up something, or tour something, and then sit for about an hour just people watching. It usually turns into an analysis of European fashion, were we saw every type of shoe and pant style. I found it bizarre that grown men wear those gellies shoes that I wore when I was 3.
We took the rest of the day for shopping down the main street around the corner from our hotel. Kat and Andrew were meeting us again in Campo di Fiori for dinner. When they arrived, they informed us that they had been sleeping all day and haven’t eaten much due to the previous night’s festivities. We all agreed that last night did get a little “Sloppy.”
We didn’t want to go to the same restaurant because Albers said that he would give us free champagne and shots for Kat’s birthday if we came back. That was the last thing we wanted, so we went to another restaurant across the way.
Because we had met so many Australians, Mary noted that her cultural experience in Italy consisted more of learning about life in Australia than in Italy. Our dinner conversations were mostly about the contrasting lifestyles of Americans vs. Aussies.
I love how in Europe, you are welcome to sit at the table for as long as you want at dinner. It wasn’t unusual for us to sit for 4 hours. Time flies in Europe; only 2 more days in Italy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Spanish StepsSpanish Steps
Spanish Steps

Here is where the creepiest, craziest man looked me in the eyes and let out a devilish cackle. bah!


Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0713s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb