Vespa Love, Franz and Bamerg


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Bamberg
September 1st 2011
Published: September 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

I could tell I was in Germany when I saw people with distinct German faces… like my mom’s nose and cheeks. I giggled to myself… remembering that my dad calls my mom a little hummel. Bahaha.

I started to get a little nervous because I couldn’t get a hold of Mo. I just crossed my fingers that he was at the train station at Bamberg and I could find him! But it was so easy, he was just right at the platform!
We went out for tapas and I had my first beer in Germany. I felt so much safer in Germany than in Rome… I am not sure if it was because I was with Mo or because Bamberg is a smaller town. I loved it within the first three hours.
Mo set me up with my own room in his apartment. We had a nice breakfast this morning and headed out to see the town. He showed met the monastery, cathedral, and a little old castle on the hill. We went shopping a little bit and I tried a donerkabab, which is really close to a shwarma (it’s a Turkish sandwich type food, but originated in Germany). Mo taught me a few words and phrases in German. Hopefully I can remember them tomorrow.
Mo took me for a little spin on his red Vespa (funny thing because I had just bought a little red Vespa magnet in Roma). It was so fun! Closest thing to a motorcycle I will ever get on. Then he trusted me enough to drive it solo… I was so nervous because you have to work the gears. Initally, I forgot how to brake. Woops. Make a lap around the block without crashing. Ride a Vespa in Europe. CHECK!
We went to a beer garden/restaurant for dinner with Cornellia and Franz. Here I had sauerkraut, this yellow potato dumpling thing, and the shoulder of a pig. I was thinking that this was the first time having meat in a while. The house beer was so smokey; the aftertaste was like taking a bite out of smoked ham.
Michaela is picking me up tomorrow and we are driving to Munich!! I am so excited. Guten nacht!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Mo and FranzMo and Franz
Mo and Franz

so happy to be father!


Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0303s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb