Roaming Around


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
May 17th 2008
Published: May 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post



So here I am in Rome, having passed through Venice and Florence and leaving in 30 minutes for Naples. I've been camping in a tent with Mark for two weeks straight and must say that I've done very well roughing it.

I woke up a couple of nights ago wondering what I was doing on the road again. Travel is hard! It builds character...and after my last trip I would like to think that I would have enough character to last a lifetime.

So why again?

For me, travel is not escapism, it's a tool that expands the self. The friends I hold close have traveled around the world or lived in foreign countries and I find them to be more relaxed and capable than most. They exude a certain confidence of self that I appreciate.

I feel life becomes a comfortable bubble of waking up, going to work, dinner in front of the television and then to bed. I drive the same route to work unless I need to go to Target or Whole Foods, I sit at my desk for 8.5 hours each day...mundane and safe and comfortable. I had a big comfy couch and a huge 52 inch t.v., a house and a yard with a big stainless steel grill. Life was wonderful!

Now I carry everything on my back and getting on the correct bus or train is an event unto itself. Yes, I feel more alive on the road. The smallest thing can make my day. I saw fire flies for the first time while sitting at my campsite in Rome and the happiness...my giddy reaction...can only be described as that of a twelve year old girl getting a pony for Christmas.

That's what I love about being away from home. Forging for food, getting back to your hostel or campsite...all is a challenge! My reactions to events and circumstances are true. No emotion is present that is forced or unreal. This is my life...and the aching feet and sometimes smelly clothes can attest to the fact that this is a journey. Am I climbing Everest? No...but I am pushing myself daily to experience new things.

All great things but I admit...I miss ice cubes and my liquor cabinet. I miss my comfy bed! I miss my dog Pogo and I miss my friends most of all!

The past 5 1/2 weeks have been incredible but I am just now getting into the swing of things. It starts out feeling like a vacation and then becomes something bigger...with Greece, Egypt, Syria, Jordan and other countries still ahead I can only guess at what is to become of me.

So now it's onto Naples and then Agropoli and then to Greece! It's an amazing journey and I'm looking forward to sharing more with you all.

Much love,

Andrea

Advertisement



26th May 2008

wanderlust. best feeling in the world. let us live vicariously through yours! and, camping for two weeks? you are a better person than i am! xoxo

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb