A funny thing happened on the way to the Forum...


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
January 22nd 2008
Published: January 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Crazy Italians...Crazy Italians...Crazy Italians...

We weren't sure that young boy mannequins casually draped in sales fliers were actually appropriate to be in a store window. But we took pictures anyway!
Since the time I've last written, not too much exploring has happened. I started classes, (two literature classes, beginner Italian, and a Modern Italian Culture class) which are all going well. I got sick over this past weekend and missed out on a few excursions, but I was promised by friends that they would take me back to visit the best spots.

On Saturday morning, I did go out with the girls upstairs. We found a nice piazza and sat around eating gelato and people watching for a few hours. It stayed pretty warm for most of the afternoon, it was a good time. We did some window shopping as well and enjoyed some of the more... unusual... window displays.

Monday, one of my literature classes was meeting in the Roman Forum at 8:15. We were the only people there that morning. It was breathtaking. Here we were, standing in what was the center of the World for over a thousand years... I didn't get any pictures that trip, but you can be certain I'll be heading back. I'll be sure to add one of my friends pictures, just you have a taste of it.

Oh, but as
Tropical ruins!Tropical ruins!Tropical ruins!

We always love the palm trees that seem to pop up here and there. This was our view from our gelato-eating bench.
to the reason I do not have any photos... About 20 minutes into our lecture, I passed out (probably due to lack of food and having been sick recently). Unfortunately, my forehead broke my fall onto the large cobblestones. So I had the unique experience of riding through the Forum in an ambulance and spending three hours in an Italian ER. Everyone was very kind, and the only time I was ever too upset is when some pushy French doctor would not get me something to eat! And, due to my requests for a bloody croissant going ignored, I passed out again. Instead of waking up to breakfast... I was given an IV of insulin or some other non-pastry quick-fix. Sigh.

All in all, I am fine and managed to escape the Forum with only five stitches! My eye is lovely and swollen/bruised, so I look like a fine mix of Mary Shelley characters. Enjoy the photos, and I'm spending this Saturday to Sunday in Florence, so I'll be sure to put pictures up when I get back!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Gelato!Gelato!
Gelato!

AJ, Alicia, me, and Jess
The ForumThe Forum
The Forum

I stole this picture from AJ, but here you have some idea of what we say when we walked in that morning.
The ForumThe Forum
The Forum

Another angle, again compliments of AJ.
After the fall...After the fall...
After the fall...

Being the avid photo snapper she is, AJ provided me with this lovely shot of me on my back in the Forum. Thanks, AJ, haha.
The aftermath.The aftermath.
The aftermath.

This is what I looked like fresh out of the ER. It really isn't all that bad, but the iodine they used to disinfect it leaves sickly yellowish/brownish stains. Gross.
Today's look.Today's look.
Today's look.

And here how everything has progressed overnight. I'm sorry for those of you with weaker stomachs. It's not terribly bad, just some interesting colors.


22nd January 2008

Some experience....
When I told you to try to have experiences in Rome that were different than the typical tourist, this is not what I had in mind! ...at least you're still smiling.
23rd January 2008

wow, wow, wow...
Thanks for updating Dani! Your eye actually looks a lot better than it did this morning! It is not near as puffy. You always make me laugh when you write. The pictures are beautiful, well most of them. Gosh, couldn't AJ have gotten your face in that shot so I know it's really you?!? Rest and have a safe and fun time in Florence this weekend. Maybe we can skype before that?
26th January 2008

Only you...
Darling, this is why we love you! I am sorry to say that I actually laughed out loud when I read that. I bet it hurt like hell, but you will ALWAYS have at least one awesome story to tell about being in Italy!! Love you much!
26th January 2008

ouch ouch more wine please
Danielle, i have my most favoite t- shirt on" save water drink more beer", but you need to stay on your feet my Dear. We are hoping you are ok and feel alot better now. Did you get Grandma's email from last weekend the 20th. You better respond it took her 1/2 hour to compose it. Really have fum and God Bless. Gram and Gramps M
31st January 2008

Adventures
Dani, Dani, Dani! I finally found the blog and I must say that you have definitely joined Shannon in her quest for adventure. Amazing! I'll have to make sure that she reads your blog; she'll be impressed. This will go right up there with her cutting the head off that rattlesnake. Chad says he misses you and keep your feet on the ground and your head in the sky. We love you!
3rd February 2008

take time to eat...
Hey Dani K - I am finally following your adventures. What an awesome adventure you are on. However, that stitch job looks a little shaky - I must say I also laughed as I read your unique way of describing your mishap! Your pictures (and AJ's) are fabulous. Thanks for sharing with all who love you. Mrs. Smith

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.03s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb