Roam Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
October 22nd 2002
Published: October 22nd 2002
Edit Blog Post

Roaming Rome...

We stayed at an acquiantance's house who gladly became our tour guide. We went to Vatican, into St. Peter's Basilica, to Sistine Chapel and walked up to Michael Angelo's castle. There were a lot of tourists in Vatican who wanted to see the Pope but very few Romans...do we still call them Romans?

We went inside the St. Peter's Basilica, went to a basement to see St Peter's and other Popes' tombs. I took a picture of the famous Pieta by Michaelangelo. I could not explain my feelings seeing these things. I didn't visualized myself before looking at these artworks. Especially when we went to the Sistine Chapel. I was awed at the Sistine Chapel. I have read and heard about the ceiling and was teary eyed when i saw it, the people there were silent maybe praying. I prayed and thanked the Lord our God in giving me a chance to see these... I was so happy, so joyous to see these masterpieces.

Then from Vatican we walk down towards Castel Sant'Angelo and along the way we went to souvenir shops we bought a nice souvenir mask and T-shirts. It was already nearing sundown
Fontana di TreviFontana di TreviFontana di Trevi

The Trevi Fountain..Three coins in a fountain..
when we reached Castel Sant'Angelo and I had an eerie feeling when we were there with the bridge of angels facing the entrance. We tried to go in but it was sort of closed. Anyway we took photos of the castle from the angel bridge and watched the sun set.

The next day, we got lost looking for the Trevi Fountain but when we got there...whoa...there were a lot of people...maybe just like me eager to perform the Coin Tradition. I need to throw a coin so I can be assured I will return to Rome...I hoped so We also went to the Colosseum and Forum.

We ended going to a Piazza where the Spanish steps were. We had the opportunity to watch a Lizzie McGuire Movie shoot where Gordo beside a yellow bus was looking at something (it turned out he was looking at Lizzie with Paulo...I had to watch the movie so I would know)..Unfortunately, Hilary Duff wasn't there at that time we were there.

Of course, we went to the Colosseum, the Forum and to a little restaurant in order to taste spaghetti.

Our next stop...Florence!






Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Castel Sant'AngeloCastel Sant'Angelo
Castel Sant'Angelo

Mausoleum of Hadrian
Vatican CityVatican City
Vatican City

The Pope's Room
PietaPieta
Pieta

Inside St. Peter's Basilica


Tot: 0.219s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0925s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb