Lourdes and Pyrenees


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Midi-Pyrénées » Lourdes
October 20th 2002
Published: October 20th 2002
Edit Blog Post

Street of LourdesStreet of LourdesStreet of Lourdes

Street from Lourdes to our hotel
My boss invited me to go to Lourdes way before we set to Europe. Although I am not a Catholic, I said to myself why not go there, see the place and check out the miracle water.

We went to Lourdes from Paris via train again and checked into a hotel not far from the church. Although you know there were lots of pilgrims, the place was quiet.

We went to the site and my boss took the opportunity to join the prayer parade that night. I just sat at a bench and watched the people mostly elderly pray with their candles went around the grounds then to the church for more prayers.

Next day we were early to visit the church, Grotto and check out the miracle water. I drank the pure (as they say) water which comes from a spring.

We also went to Le Pic du Jer that overlooks Lourdes. We took the chair-lift which goes to the summit and there is a fantastic view of Lourdes and the Pyrenees. It was so windy and cold up there.

Of course, one cannot be tempted to shop for religious articles which my boss
The Sanctuary at LourdesThe Sanctuary at LourdesThe Sanctuary at Lourdes

Entrance of the Sanctuary at Lourdes
did. I was able to buy a nice pair of espadrilles here.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

The GrottoThe Grotto
The Grotto

Grotto at Lourdes
View from the Summit - PyreneesView from the Summit - Pyrenees
View from the Summit - Pyrenees

Fantastic view of Pyrenees


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb