A Night at the Opera


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Emilia-Romagna » Parma
October 23rd 2008
Published: October 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Parma's most famous productsParma's most famous productsParma's most famous products

Those with high cholestorol please look away now! We ordered a plate of proscuitto, salami and parma reggiano- it was exqusite!
On Wednesday night we travelled across to Parma - a city famous for its cheese and ham and composer Giuseppe Verdi.

Parma celebrates its most famous citizen, Verdi, with a month-long festival of operas and concerts held at the Teatro Regio every year and so when Viviana suggested coming to Parma (which is about 90 minutes on the train) I thought why not?

At this point I must apologise for the quality of photographs, I left the hotel without my camera and had to use my Nokia phone for the photography. Not great quality at the best of times but in the absence of my camera it would have to do.

Once tickets were secured it was time for an aperitif and a bite to eat. We spotted a free table at Noi de Parma , not far from the Teatro Regio.

As you will see in the photo below , I dressed very inappropriately for the opera. Quite often you can be turned away if you are dressed too casually. Opening night opera performances require a full dark suit for men, an elegant dress for ladies, I'm guessing last night wasn't opening night as I was
Plenty in StockPlenty in StockPlenty in Stock

They are unlikely to ever run out of proscuitto in this bar!
let him albeit with several death stares from other patrons.

The opera was fantastic and the neo-classical theatre quite incredible. For those who arent aware of the story of Rigoletto, here is a quick summation: In the 1550s, Mantua, the Duke, a celebrated ladies man, seduces Gilda, the beautiful daughter of his sharp-tongued jester, Rigoletto. Vowing revenge, her dad hires Sparafucile, a notorious assassin, to avenge his family’s honor - a decision that ends in tragedy.

After the opera it was dinner nearby before retiring to the Hotel Toscanini. The morning was spent wandering around the streets of Parma before heading back to the big smoke that is Milan. If ever in Milan I recommend a day trip to Parma, one of the highlights of my trip so far.










Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Inside the TheatreInside the Theatre
Inside the Theatre

Opened in 1829 this Opera Hose was built in the beautiful neoclassical style
Dressed for the Opera? Not MeDressed for the Opera? Not Me
Dressed for the Opera? Not Me

Shamefully I wasnt prepared for attending the opera. As I dont usually carry a suit with me on holidays and most of my clothes were drying back in Milan I had to go in Jeans and a T-Shirt. At least Viviana dressed accordingly
Dinner after the OperaDinner after the Opera
Dinner after the Opera

Afterwards we dined at Antica Cereria where I had some fantastic gnocchi with truffles baked in the oven.
RigolettoRigoletto
Rigoletto

The sets were incredible and the performances magnificent.


Tot: 0.293s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 73; dbt: 0.0849s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb