Assitalia!!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Emilia-Romagna » Bologna
August 19th 2006
Published: August 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Oh my!Oh my!Oh my!

Mmmmm, there is some good asses in Bologna!
Oh, I know you may think I made that name up but no - apparently Bologna is all about ass! Gay ass at that!

How about that for a teaser? Read on, intrepid surfers...

I have been to Italy 5 times before, all for a week or longer - a couple even in August. I had been all over the country but had not yet made it to Bologna so I decided to spend a couple of days there before I hit Slovenia (since it is such a pain in the ass to get to Slovenia anyway, Bologna was a plausible stop over). I mention these previous trips because I want to be clear that I realize a lot of Italians are on vacation in August and I did not expect every place to be open. Also, I am familiar with Italian ettique and male-on-male bonding (i.e. hetero bonding that is). So I am not (damn keyboard does not seem to have apostophes dammit!!) just crazy or unschooled in the ways of the Italians when I say that: Bologna is closed, and also it is gay. Yes. Closed. Gay. Seriously.

Closed.
Since I was in Bologna, I wanted some damn pasta bolognese. Would seem like a simple thing, but every goddamned place that serves that shit is closed. I tried everyplace in my slightly outdated Lonely Planet, I asked Italians for recommendations (they were mostly from out of town!), I socured the streets. Lots of bars and a few pizzerias were open but no real restaurants. Actually I found a super-expensive French restaurant that was open. Screw that!! Finallllly, just when I thought I could not stand another closed for August sign I found a trattoria that promised to be open late in the evening. It did not open until 8pm! But it said it would open! So around 8 I finally got my bolognese after looking for it all day and realiying that pretty much all the good places are indeed closed in Bologna. As for my meal, it was decent and well priced at around 5 euros. Place is called Trattoria bel Fiore on Marsala, just a block down from Independzia. Good mezzo liter of wine for 2 euro is also well worth it! And anyway if you are in Bologna in August you have no choice!

Gay
Thats right dear readers -- masses of gay men were ogling your humble yet succulent author. I can not believe how many dudes were obviously cruising me and each other. All over the damn city! If the locals are down south, somehow a flock of finnochios swooped into the city to take their place. I got cruised at the airport bathroom, and waiting for a cab. Walking around at Pizzia Maggiore I got propositioned in the daytime twice and again at dusk. Different guys. 😉 And then around 11pm when I was on my way to go get trashed at a bar, a dude named Carlo starts walking next to me and chatting me up. After a few minutes he asked me to wait a second. He then proceeded to unzip his jeans, pull out his dick, and piss against a building. So this cant just be a coincidence. I wasnt asking for the attention!!

Meanwhile, enjoy the pic of Assitalia! I have no idea what the hell it is, but right after the pissing incident I saw the sign and I couldnt think of a better way to describe my Bologna visit.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.175s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1173s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb