Italia


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Emilia-Romagna » Bologna
December 9th 2006
Published: December 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

For the puente (our 5 day break right before finals) I went to Italy to visit the Caruso's and had the time of my life. This is by far my favorite trip I've taken in Europe. Laura picked me up from the airport Wednesday morning and we went back to the house to wait for Alessandra and Michelle to get home from school. When they got home we ate delicious food for lunch. Then Ale and I did some homework and played board games until dinner. After dinner Ale and I did some crafts and then went to sleep. I feel so at home here with the Caruso's. Thursday morning Paul, Laura, and I went into downtown Bologna and I loved it. We walked around all of the small streets and went into a beautiful old library. One of my favorite parts of downtown was the outdoor market. It was huge and they had every kind of fresh food. The architecture downtown was also beautiful. Paul and I rode bikes to go pick Ale up from school, and we had tortellini for lunch when we got home. Then I got to watch Ale at her swimming lesson which was great. After dinner on Thursday night we made chocolate chip cookies. We didn't have enough brown sugar so we improvised with maple syrup, and they still turned out great. Baking, or course, reminded me of home. We woke up early Friday morning and drove to Macerata--where Laura's parents live in the seminary. We met up with Laura's cousin Christina there, her husbnd John Paulo, and their son Jacamo. The seminary had everything, including a view of the city. We toured the seminary and I got to use my spanish with one of the people living and studying there. Then we went to lunch at a wonderful place (of which I can't remember the name). It was like a farm, but there was a restaurant and all of the pasta in the restaurant is hand-made from scratch. We had fettuccini (taglia telle) with duck, gnioki (not spelled right), raviolis, lamb, and really good chocolate icecream for dessert. This was the best meal I've had in Europe ever. After lunch we walked around downtown Macerata and I also love this town. It's smaill, but beautiful. Then we drove to a town near Assisi where John Paulo has a beautiful old house there. We stayed there for the night and walked around the town before dinner. It was beutiful with all of the Christmas lights everywhere. We woke up this morning and drove to Assisi which I have decided is one of my favorite towns in the world. It is absolutely gorgeous. Assisi has this beautiful pink colored brick everywhere. We also saw the basilica of St. Frances. We had lunch at another wonderful restaurant outside of Assisi. When you walk in it's like a cave, and there is a huge wood-burning stove. We had yet another amazing meal. Then we went to see St. Frances's house, which is practically on top of a mountain with a breathtaking view of Assisi. Now we are back home in Bologna and I go back to Spain tomorrow. Spending the weekend in Italy with the Caruso's gave me a little taste of home. I had an incredible weekend and I wish I didn't have to leave. I will see you all in 2 weeks!

Advertisement



10th December 2006

LOOKING FORWARD TO YOUR RETURN
Dear Kel Bel Great trip to see the Caruso's. A nice feeling of familiar family. I know you must be home sick by now. The food, country side, and folk sound wonderful. Looking forward to seeing you kiddo. Love Annie and Larry
10th December 2006

I'm glad you had fun in Italy. I'm home now and the only thing that's missing is you! Enjoy the last two weeks!! Love, Meg

Tot: 0.285s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb